Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Who will be 2020 water professional of the year

Who will be the 2020 Water Professional of the Year?

Seven of Australia’s leading water professionals are in the running to take out the top gong at the Australian Water Awards next month. 

With Ozwater going online this year, the awards will be too, with the winners announced over two virtual Ozwater’20 Online Happy Hours in June.

This includes the Water Professional of the Year Award, which honours individuals who have displayed a sustained passion and continued commitment to the water industry, and who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and influence in the water sector.

Watch the videos below to meet this year’s nominees and then don’t forget to join the happy hour on Thursday, 25 June to find out who won! You can register for Ozwater’20 Online here.


Daryl Ross, Acting Director – Road and Water Infrastructure

Logan City Council

Western Australia

Jeremy Maher, Manager of Sustainability and Environment

City of Bayswater


Chris Thompson, Principal Consultant

Macquarie Franklin


Terry Dalgleish, Group Manager Liveability

South East Water

South Australia

Mark Gobbie, General Manager – Asset Operations and Delivery

SA Water

Northern Territory

Eric Vanweydeveld, Remote Planning Program Manager

Power and Water Corporation

New South Wales

Grant Leslie, General Manager

Balmoral Group Australia


The Australian Water Awards are proudly supported by event partner ANZ.