Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Inspiring individuals recognised australian water awards

Inspiring individuals recognised during Australian Water Awards

As part of the Australian Water Association’s second virtual awards ceremony on 25 June, the winners of three Australian Water Awards were announced live during the Ozwater’20 Online Happy Hour, plus the announcement of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Recognising excellence and innovation across the water sector, the award categories announced were for Best Water e-Journal Paper, Young Water Professional of the Year, and Water Professional of the Year.

The Association’s Chief Executive Corinne Cheeseman congratulated this year's winners for the vital role they play in the industry and the wider community.

“If there’s one thing the world has learned over the past few months, it’s that water is essential and the work we do as a water industry is essential,” she said.

“The finalists and winners of these awards have found innovative ways to sustainably manage our water resources, protect our people, and support our communities.”

“On behalf of the Association, I would like to congratulate the finalists and winners of this year’s awards who truly embody our purpose to inspire and drive a sustainable water future.”

The next round of State and Territory Water Awards are now open. To find closing dates for each of the awards and to submit an award entry, click here.

As major sponsor of the Australian Water Awards for the past six years, ANZ's Director Sustainable Finance Solutions, Andrew Lawson understands the importance of recognising excellence during challenging times.

“ANZ's purpose is to shape a world where people and communities thrive. Support for an essential resource such as water is crucial to us living our purpose," he said.

“The water sector has had a tough time dealing with one of the worst droughts on record, and now it has had to adapt and innovate in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. It’s even more important this year to recognise excellence under such challenging circumstances.”

The winners

Best Water e-Journal Paper (in honour of Guy Parker)

Progressing Reconciliation through Indigenous Partnerships within Australian Water Utilities – Michael Thomas, David McKinnis and Shu Brown

This paper explores the deep-time connections that traditional owner nations have had with water in the Corangamite catchment of Victoria. The paper also outlines a range of initiatives that Barwon Water has recently undertaken to develop stronger and more meaningful partnerships with traditional owners.

Overall, it is hoped this paper will be useful for other water utilities undertaking work in this area, and to inform other sectors how to develop meaningful initiatives that, in their own small way, help contribute to wider national reconciliation efforts.

Young Water Professional of the Year

(Sponsored by Xylem)
Dr Paul Satur, Researcher, Monash Water Sensitive Cities, Monash Sustainable Development Institute and Our Future Cities

Dr Paul Satur is an early career environmental and social science researcher with the Centre for Water Sensitive Cities. He is also Co-Founder of the Our Future Cities organisation. His passion and focus lie in developing the knowledge, tools and influence to foster a socially inclusive and vibrant sustainable water future for everyone.

With a career spanning just 10 years, Paul has made significant inroads in progressing the sector beyond best practice through innovation and excellence in community engagement, capacity building and empowerment initiatives for a more socially just and inclusive water future.

Water Professional of the Year

Daryl Ross, Acting Director, Road and Water Infrastructure, Logan City Council

Daryl Ross is one of the quiet achievers of the Queensland water industry; a calm, strategic, compassionate voice across his 43 years as a water engineer and leader. Among his many achievements, he helped create the first non-statutory regional plan for South East Queensland, led the strategic response to the Millennium Drought and transformed two water businesses.

Ross’ willingness to share learnings with the broader industry is having an immediate and lasting impact on our sector and he is a very deserving recipient of the 2020 Water Professional of the Year Award.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Peter Moore PSM was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises and honours Australian Water Association members who, through long and meritorious service, have made a positive contribution to the Australian water industry.

Read the full article here

The Australian Water Association wishes to congratulate all the award finalists and winners and thank its generous sponsors for their support of these important industry awards.