Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Meet the contenders for the 2020 young water professional of the year award

Meet the contenders for the 2020 Young Water Professional of the Year Award

The Australian water sector’s best and brightest young minds will compete for the 2020 Young Water Professional of the Year Award at the Australian Water Association’s National Water Awards this month.

Usually presented at a Gala Dinner during the AWA’s Ozwater conference, this year the award winners will be revealed during two virtual happy hours as part of Ozwater’20 Online

Watch the videos to learn more about the young professionals in the running for the award, proudly sponsored by Xylem, and then join the happy hour on Thursday, 25 June to see who takes home the title. 

You can register for Ozwater’20 Online here.

Northern Territory

Christina Bruno, NT Program Manager


Australian Capital Territory

Portia Condell, Environmental Support Officer

Icon Water

Western Australia

Rebecca Ferguson, Catchment Management Officer

City of Bayswater

New South Wales

Dr Tanja Rosenqvist, Lecturer – Humanitarian Engineering



Dr Paul Satur, Researcher

Monash Water Sensitive Cities, Monash Sustainable Development Institute and Our Future Cities

South Australia

Ben Staniford, Senior Engineer



Cassandre Tickner-Smith, Environment and Compliance Officer

Tasmanian Irrigation


Aidan Symons, Senior Engineer, Water Infrastructure


The Australian Water Awards are proudly supported by event partner ANZ.