Skip to content

Nominations now open

Our state and national
water awards program recognises outstanding achievements of individualsorganisations and students. The awards showcase innovation, leadership, infrastructure and inspiring positive change to drive a sustainable water future. 

Organisational Excellence Website

Awards for organisations

Open to AWA member organisations, nominate your projects for infrastructure innovation, organisational excellence, research, safety, and customer experience.

Find out more
Phil duncan

Awards for individuals

Open to AWA members and corporate member employees, have your commitment recognised as Water Professional of the Year or Young Water Professional of the Year.

Be recognised

Awards for students

Students can enter the Student Water Prize showcasing excellence in water studies and research, and the prestigious Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize for high school students.  

Grow your profile



2024 Australian Water Awards winners revealed

Sponsored by ANZ, the Australian Water Awards recognised winners in 11 categories at the Ozwater'24 Gala Dinner in May.

Find out more
Awards 2024 Header Image-1

Announcing the 2024 National Water Awards Finalists

Congratulations to the 2024 Australian Water Awards Finalists! Winners will be announced at the Ozwater’24 Gala Dinner this May.

Find out more

Celebrating the winners of the NSW Water Awards 2024

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s NSW Water Awards have been announced on Friday, 1 March at the Four Seasons Sydney. 

Find out more
Winners Updated

Celebrating the winners of the ACT Water Awards 2024

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s ACT Water Awards have been announced at the ACT Water Leaders Dinner on 15 February at the Old Parliament House in Canberra.

Find out more
TAS Award winners 2023

Winners announced at the 2023 TAS Galah Dinner & Awards

The best and brightest of Tasmania's water sector gathered at AURA Hobart to celebrate the finalists and winner for the 2023 Tasmanian Water Awards on 23 November.

Find out more

South Australia celebrates exceptional Members at the SA Gala Dinner and Awards

The 2023 Australian Water Association's Water Awards SA (South Australia) winners have been announced at the SA Gala Dinner & Awards on Friday, 10 November in Adelaide.

Find out more
2023 WA Winners

Celebrating our WA Winners for 2023

The Australian Water Association's (AWA) Western Australian (WA) Water Award winners have been announced at the WA Water Awards Dinner on 3 November at The Ritz-Carlton Perth.

Find out more
VIC Awards 2023

Victorian water sector celebrates its achievements at Water Awards

The 2023 Australian Water Association's Victorian Water Awards winners have been announced at the VIC Gala Dinner & Awards on Thursday, 26 October in Melbourne.

Find out more
NT Award winners 2023

Outstanding achievements recognised at the 2023 NT Water Awards

The winners of the 2023 Australian Water Association’s NT Water Awards have been announced at the NT Water Awards Dinner on Thursday, 12 October  in Darwin

Find out more

Celebrating the winners of the 2023 Queensland Water Awards

The winners of the 2023 Australian Water Association’s Queensland Water Awards have been announced at the Queensland Gala Dinner & Awards Night on 5 October. 

Find out more



To compete in the Australian Water Awards, entries will first be judged at the appropriate State Awards, with winners automatically entered as a finalist for the National awards (aside from our two National Award only categories).

In addition to the 10 national award categories, each state runs independently other award categories. These programs, like the national, recognise and reward individuals and organisations for innovation, commitment and leadership in the Australian water sector.

All Awards, aside from the Student Water Prize and Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize, are open to AWA members only. The Innovating for Sustainable Water and Environmental Outcomes Award (WA only) is also open to non members, however the lead organisation must be a not-for-profit, local government body, non-government organisation, school or small business.

For organisational awards, the lead organisation/s must be a current Corporate Member. Any partner organisations listed in the submission must also be a current Corporate Member to receive recognition if announced as a finalist and/or winner. This recognition includes the organisation/s being listed as a finalist on award collateral (online and print), on email communications announcing the finalists and/or winners, on any certificates and/or trophies, on the awards visual presentation (if applicable) and on media release statements.If the partner organisation/s listed in the submission are not current Corporate AWA Members, they will not receive the recognition as listed above.

For individual awards, the nominee must be a current individual AWA Member or an employee of a current Corporate Member.

To enter, nominations must be submitted using the online entry forms. Please note when your relevant State or Territory award submissions close.

There is no entry fee associated with the AWA Awards program.

Duplicate nominations are not permitted in the awards program. This means that you cannot nominate the same individual or project/activity for more than one award category or more than one state or territory in the same year. You can enter more than one award in the same year, as long as it is not with the same project/activity.

The submission close dates are specific to the state or territory award being entered. Please click your relevant state/territory button on this page to view the closing dates.

All nominations must be submitted via the online nomination form. Please check the relevant award category page to view the requirements to complete the nomination form.

State judging is coordinated by the relevant Member Engagement Manager and committee. Each state convenes a panel of experts to assess the applications.

National judging is coordinated by the National Awards Manager. The panels of experts are approved by the Honours & Awards Sub-committee of the Board to take part in the judging. Each panel includes at least three judges and is chaired by an AWA Board Director.

At both state and national levels, judges score each nominee based on how well they address the award criteria. The panel then meets to review the scoring and discuss the merits of all submissions. Final scoring and ranking is based on a majority vote from all eligible members of the judging panel.

All judges adhere to a code of conduct which includes a policy to prevent conflicts of interest. The judges’ decision is final and no discussion about the merits of entries will be entered into with nominees.

Award finalists and winners of the State Awards will be announced at their relevant state or territory event. Winners of the Australian Water Awards are presented at the Australian Water Awards Gala Dinner held at Ozwater each year.