Skip to content

Our state and national water awards program recognises outstanding achievements of individualsorganisations and students. The awards showcase innovation, leadership, infrastructure and inspiring positive change to drive a sustainable water future.  

ACT Award Categories

Individual Awards

  • Water Professional of the Year
  • Young Water Professional of the Year

Student Awards

  • Student Water Prize

Organisational Awards

  • Infrastructure Project Innovation (Metro)
  • Infrastructure Project Innovation (Regional)
  • Organisational Excellence
  • R&D Excellence

Important Dates
Entries close: 16 November 2023
Winners announced: Gala Dinner, February 2024




National R&D Excellence Award Sponsor

Water Research Australia-horizontal

National Young Water Professional of the Year Sponsor



Interested in becoming a judge?

Expressions of Interest to be a judge for the State and National Awards are open now,
so lend your expertise to highlight significant achievements for the year. This is a member-only benefit.

Become a Judge


Awards for organisations

Open to AWA member organisations, nominate your projects for infrastructure innovation, organisational excellence, research, safety, and customer experience.

Find out more

Awards for individuals

Open to AWA members and corporate member employees, have your commitment recognised as Water Professional of the Year or Young Water Professional of the Year.

Be recognised

Awards for students

Students can enter the Student Water Prize showcasing excellence in water studies and research, and the prestigious Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize for high school students.  

Grow your profile



Water sector’s best celebrated at Ozwater'23 Gala Dinner

A spectacular 360-degree stage formed the centrepiece of the 2023 Australian Water Awards, where the brightest talents of the Australian water community were celebrated.

Find out more

2023 National Water Awards Finalists

Congratulations to all the National Water Awards Finalists for 2023! Winners will be announced at the upcoming Ozwater’23 Gala Dinner and Australian Water Awards on 11 May.

Find out more

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 NSW Water Awards

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s NSW Water Awards have been announced on  3 March 2023 at the Hilton in Sydney.

Find out more
VIC Water Award Winners

AWA Victorian Water Awards winners celebrated

The Australian Water Association's Victorian (VIC) Water Awards winners have been announced at the VIC Gala Dinner and Awards Night on Thursday, 3 November, at Melbourne Town Hall. 

Find out more
WA Water Awards-1

Celebrating the winners of the WA Water Awards

The Australian Water Association's (AWA) Western Australian (WA) Water Award winners have been announced at the WA Branch 50th Anniversary Dinner & Water Awards on 28 October at The Ritz-Carlton Perth. 

Find out more
NT Awards Winners

Celebrating the Territory’s high achievers at the NT Water Awards

Congratulations to all our 2022 Territory’s high achievers! Winners have been announced at the NT Water Awards.

Find out more



To compete in the Australian Water Awards, entries will first be judged at the appropriate State Awards, with winners automatically entered as a finalist for the National awards (aside from our two National Award only categories).

In addition to the 10 national award categories, each state runs independently other award categories. These programs, like the national, recognise and reward individuals and organisations for innovation, commitment and leadership in the Australian water sector.

All Awards, aside from the Student Water Prize and Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize, are open to AWA members only. The Innovating for Sustainable Water and Environmental Outcomes Award (WA only) is also open to non members, however the lead organisation must be a not-for-profit, local government body, non-government organisation, school or small business.

For organisational awards, the lead organisation/s must be a current Corporate Member. Any partner organisations listed in the submission must also be a current Corporate Member to receive recognition if announced as a finalist and/or winner. This recognition includes the organisation/s being listed as a finalist on award collateral (online and print), on email communications announcing the finalists and/or winners, on any certificates and/or trophies, on the awards visual presentation (if applicable) and on media release statements.If the partner organisation/s listed in the submission are not current Corporate AWA Members, they will not receive the recognition as listed above.

For individual awards, the nominee must be a current individual AWA Member or an employee of a current Corporate Member.

To enter, nominations must be submitted using the online entry forms. Please note when your relevant State or Territory award submissions close.

There is no entry fee associated with the AWA Awards program.

Duplicate nominations are not permitted in the awards program. This means that you cannot nominate the same individual or project/activity for more than one award category or more than one state or territory in the same year. You can enter more than one award in the same year, as long as it is not with the same project/activity.

The submission close dates are specific to the state or territory award being entered. Please click your relevant state/territory button on this page to view the closing dates.

All nominations must be submitted via the online nomination form. Please check the relevant award category page to view the requirements to complete the nomination form.

State judging is coordinated by the relevant Member Engagement Manager and committee. Each state convenes a panel of experts to assess the applications.

National judging is coordinated by the National Awards Manager. The panels of experts are approved by the Honours & Awards Sub-committee of the Board to take part in the judging. Each panel includes at least three judges and is chaired by an AWA Board Director.

At both state and national levels, judges score each nominee based on how well they address the award criteria. The panel then meets to review the scoring and discuss the merits of all submissions. Final scoring and ranking is based on a majority vote from all eligible members of the judging panel.

All judges adhere to a code of conduct which includes a policy to prevent conflicts of interest. The judges’ decision is final and no discussion about the merits of entries will be entered into with nominees.

Award finalists and winners of the State Awards will be announced at their relevant state or territory event. Winners of the 2023 Australian Water Awards are presented at the Ozwater Gala Dinner, to be held in Sydney in May 2023.