Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Celebrating the winners of the 2023 queensland water awards

Celebrating the winners of the 2023 Queensland Water Awards

Congratulations to all the winners

The winners of the 2023 Australian Water Association’s Queensland Water Awards have been announced at the Queensland Gala Dinner & Awards Night on Thursday, 5 October at the Hilton Brisbane. 

The Queensland Water Awards recognise the contribution of the Association's members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects. 

AWA Queensland Member Engagement Manager Carlie Sargent congratulated all the finalists and winners for their significant contribution and outstanding achievements.

“AWA’s Water Awards recognise the important and groundbreaking work our members do for the water sector and for their communities,” Sargent said.   

“The Queensland Water Award finalists and winners showcase the best examples of innovation and are a reflection of our members' collective contribution towards our sustainable water future.   

“From achieving sustainable water management and improving environmental outcomes through wastewater management, the people and projects we are celebrating demonstrate the excellent work being done across Queensland.  ”

This year's Queensland Water Award winners will represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association's annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater'24, in Melbourne.

View the photo gallery from the Queensland Water Awards.  


Organisational Excellence Award:  

Urban Utilities, Stantec, KBR and AJile (Aurecon and Jacobs): Urban Utilities – Planning Our Journey to Excellence and Empowered People

Urban Utilities’ Journey to Excellence has involved a fundamental transformation in the way we plan and deliver solutions to the industry’s most complex problems. This has been a bold undertaking, but Urban Utilities are now seeing remarkable benefits including future readiness, complete alignment of strategy and investment, and empowered people.   

R&D Excellence Award (Sponsored by Water Research Australia):  

Water Research Australia-horizontal

Unitywater with Contributing OrganisationsA Living Laboratory - R&D at Yandina Creek Wetland and Blue Heart Sunshine Coast  

Unitywater’s Yandina Creek Wetland is a living laboratory, using nature to assist with achieving the utility’s sustainability goal of net zero nutrients to waterways. It is a research hub, eco-tourism destination, has cultural significance for First Nations people and contributes to healthy waterways and increased biodiversity in the region. 

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (REGIONAL) (Sponsored by 4020 Consult):  

4020 Consult-Masterlogo-CMYK33 copy

SunwaterCallide Dam Gates  

Vibration of dam spillway gates posed a risk to the safe operation of Callide dam and the water supply to essential industry and agriculture. The technical challenge was solved through a global team with cost and time savings from gate strengthening and changes to controls rather than replacing the gates. 

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (METRO) (Sponsored by 4020 Consult):  

4020 Consult-Masterlogo-CMYK33 copy

Interflow and Urban UtilitiesHow Queensland’s Oldest and Largest Sewer was Upgraded While the City Slept 

The S1 Main Sewer is the backbone of Brisbane’s sewer network. Over seven years, the S1 was upgraded to extend its life and provide the Brisbane community with exceptional sewer services for generations to come. Extreme underground conditions meant a creative new approach was needed rehabilitate this significant infrastructure.   

Student Water Prize (Sponsored by Fulton Hogan):  

Fulton Hogan

Zhetai Hu,
 Australian Centre for Water and Environmental Biotechnology, The University of Queensland  – Novel Usages of Iron Salts for Achieving Sustainable Water Management 

Zhetai’s study focused on novel applications of iron salts for an integrated technology solution that will enable water utilities to establish a self-reliant and more secure supply chain to meet its demand for iron salts, at lower economic and environmental costs, and simultaneously achieve recovery of high-quality bioenergy.     

Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem): 
Amber Craig, Senior Project Officer / Hydro-Climate Analyst, Murray-Darling Basin Authority  

Amber Craig is a hydroclimate analyst and project officer with the Murray-Darling Basin Authority working at the science to policy interface. Amber further contributes to the water sector through First Nations reconciliation efforts, and promotes diversity and inclusion through her leadership and as co-founder of the Women’s Inclusive Leadership Network. 

Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by KSB): 

Anthony Domanti, Senior Principal Engineer, WSP  

With over 25 years’ service in providing services to industry wide clients, Anthony has managed important design work for the pump stations at the heart of Logan City’s wastewater network. Due to his extensive experience, he is sought out for his professional excellence, industry engagement and willingness to share knowledge and experience. 

Regional Service Award
Narelle D’Amico  

Narelle D’Amico is the Branch Manager Water Services for Bundaberg Regional Council. Narelle is an uplifting, engaging water professional who is a passionate advocate for regional areas. Through her involvement in the Queensland Branch Committee and the Queensland Water Directorate, she has showcased excellence in water and wastewater management in regional areas and has been a key driver of collaboration.  

Distinguished Service Award
Richard Savage

Richard Savage is the Director, Environment and Planning Advisory with Aurecon. Richard is recognised for his eight years of distinguished service as an active member of the Queensland Branch Committee up until 2022, including four years as Treasurer. Throughout this time and across his career, he has been highly regarded as a thought leader and mentor for young water professionals and was the Queensland Water Professional of the Year in 2018. 



The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our partners and sponsors for supporting this event and these important industry awards.