Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > 2024 australian water awards winners revealed

2024 Australian Water Awards winners revealed

The water community gathered for the Ozwater’24 Gala Dinner last night, the room abuzz in anticipation for the 2024 Australian Water Awards announcements, with delegates gathering to celebrate this year’s exemplary efforts from individuals and organisations across Australia.

Sponsored by ANZ, the Australian Water Awards recognised winners in 11 categories, culminating with the announcement of University of Canberra Galambany Professorial Fellow and proud Gomeroi man Professor Leslie (Phil) Duncan as the recipient of the 2024 Water Professional of the Year Award, sponsored by KSB.

“This award is not just about me, it's about you and what we get to do together. I hope this inspires not just our Young Water Professionals, I hope it inspires our young Indigenous people, too,” he said.

“Most importantly, I am so proud to share the stage with Indigenous women. We have to stand with our women, particularly at this time. We need to make sure us men stay strong and focused, we are our mothers’ sons.

“I grew up with a tin roof and a dirt floor. My first classroom was Terry Hie Hie state forest, running with my grandfather and my father along Tycannah Creek, and my river, the Gwydir.

“This award is recognition of that knowledge that has sustained us as the people of this Country since time immemorial, not just 60,000 years. And it is crucial that we continue to look at how we can integrate cultural values and methodologies into our future thoughts and strategies for water security.”

Aurecon Lead Process Engineer Dr Samuel Skinner claimed the 2024 Young Water Professional of the Year Award, sponsored by Xylem, and was commended for his dedication to improving water recycling.

“This is such a great honour, especially considering the calibre of other finalists. The most special thing about this whole experience has been learning more about the other finalists and their work,” he said.

 “It has been a really special journey to get to this point. Thank you to Aurecon for the opportunities they have provided to YWPs, and Xylem for sponsoring the award.

“This whole week has really reinforced the urgency and importance of protecting, caring for and regenerating water Country.”

Celebrating excellence

 Other categories saw recognition of separate metro and regional awards for Infrastructure Project Innovation, both sponsored by SMEC.

Power and Water Corporation and Clean TeQ Water were awarded under the regional category for the Laramba Water Treatment Plant: Improving the Health of a Remote Community. The project successfully delivered a water treatment solution for the removal of naturally occurring uranium from the groundwater at Laramba community.

Melbourne Water and John Holland-KBR Joint Venture took out the metro category for the Eastern Treatment Plant Biogas Handling System Stage 1 Upgrade. The project delivered the necessary operational requirements while ensuring immediate and on-going social, economic and environmental benefits.

Lily Rofail from Presbyterian Ladies' College Sydney took home the Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize, sponsored by Xylem, with her project investigating the use of water hyssop and avocado skin powder in removing heavy metals from aquatic environments.

“I am so thankful and honoured to receive such a distinguished award this evening. I have always been passionate about improving water quality for all. This prize will allow me to share my project, meet and learn from other people passionate about water,” she said.  

“In future, I hope the findings of my project reach the wider world in making meaningful change.”

Check out the full list of winners below:

R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia)
Ecosystem Functions in the Murray-Darling Basin (Investing in New Knowledge to Adapt the Murray-Darling Basin Plan)
CSIRO and Murray Darling Basin Authority

Organisational Excellence Award (sponsored by Hydroflux)
Waterwise Perth Action Plan 2019
Department of Water & Environmental Regulation, Water Corporation and other contributing organisations

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Regional) (sponsored by SMEC)
Laramba Water Treatment Plant: Improving the Health of a Remote Community
Power and Water Corporation and Clean TeQ Water

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Metro) (sponsored by SMEC)
Eastern Treatment Plant Biogas Handling System Stage 1 Upgrade
Melbourne Water and John Holland-KBR Joint Venture

Water Industry Safety Excellence Award (sponsored by WSAA)
Innovative and Safe Solution for Water Distribution System Maintenance - Portable Chlorine Disinfection Skid
SUEZ, SA Water and other contributing organisations

Customer Experience Award (sponsored by WSAA)
School Education Waterwise Experience
Water Corporation

Best Water E-Journal Paper – in Honour of Guy Parker
Digital Tool for Driving Circular Economy Outcomes in the Australian Red Meat Industry
Fabiana Tessele

Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize (sponsored by Xylem)
Hey-sop! Fix-up! and Avo-clean Water System
Lily Rofail, PLC Sydney

Student Water Prize (sponsored by Guidera O’Connor)

Deep Learning for Prognostics of Wastewater Treatment Facilities
Maira Alvi

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by Xylem)
Dr Samuel Skinner, Lead Process Engineer, Aurecon

Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by KSB)
Professor Leslie (Phil) Duncan, Galambany Professorial Fellow, University of Canberra

Congratulations to all the 2024 Australian Water Awards winners.