Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Celebrating the winners of the act water awards 2024

Celebrating the winners of the ACT Water Awards 2024

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s ACT Water Awards have been announced at the ACT Water Leaders Dinner on 15 February at the Old Parliament House in Canberra.

The ACT Water Awards recognise the contribution of the Association’s members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects.

Attendees also enjoyed a tour of the Old Parliament House, taking guests through the Senate Chamber and uncovering fascinating stories about its occupants.

Congratulations to our winners!

Organisational Excellence Award
eMission Possible Plan  - Icon Water and Aurecon

Icon Water developed an eMission Possible Plan outlining initiatives for net zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2045 based on staff-sourced climate change options together with Aurecon’s technical and financial feasibility of options. The plan has integrated net zero into business investment, planning and delivery consistent with customer expectations

R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia) 
Ecosystem Functions in the Murray-Darling Basin (Investing in New Knowledge to Adapt the Murray-Darling Basin Plan) - CSIRO and Murray Darling Basin Authority (MDBA)

The Ecosystem Functions project addressed key ecosystem functions knowledge gaps at a basin-scale to inform improved management and delivery of water for the environment within the Murray-Darling Basin. 

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (METRO) 
Cotter Pump Station Design - GHD and Icon Water

GHD and Icon Water worked in close collaboration to develop a robust detailed design of the new Cotter Pump Station.  The design considered the constrained brownfield site, cultural heritage aspects and efficient selection of pumps and built structural forms. 

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by Xylem) 
Rose Mckenna, Project Engineer, Icon Water 

Rose Mckenna is a Project Engineer at Icon Water, supporting the delivery of projects to improve operations and safety at Icon Water sites. Rose is a member of the ACT AWA Branch Committee and the YWP sub-committee and is enthusiastic about growing the YWP network within the ACT and surrounds.  

Water Professional of the Year Award 
Dr Ryan Signor, Industry Director, Water - New South Wales & Australian Capital Territory, Aurecon

Dr Ryan Signor leads Aurecon’s water community and connects with organisations that have roles to play in water stewardship. Over two decades, he has built extensive experience in development and delivery of water programs, design and implementation of strategic transformations, sustainable water resources management, and providing water policy advice. 

The AWA would like to thank our sponsors for their generous support, which made the event possible. 

This year’s ACT Water Award winners will go on to represent the territory in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’24 in Melbourne.


Thank You to Our Sponsors

ACT Branch Principal Partner
iconwater_logo_cmyk_for printed use only
 ACT Branch Strategic Partners
GHD logo-jfif

ACT Branch Supporter

National R&D Excellence Award Sponsor

National Young Water Professional of the Year Award Sponsor