TAS Awards

In 2012 the Branch introduced an awards program in line with the Australian Water Association National Water Awards. The Tasmanian Water Environment Merit Award (TWEMA) is awarded by the Tasmanian branch of the Australian Water Association for a project, initiative, product or service which has achieved outstanding management or development of water resources on a sustainable basis in Tasmania in the past three to four years. Find out more below.

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (Gary Ingram Memorial Award)

The Tasmanian 2018 YWP Award is now open and will be presented at the 2018 Galah Dinner & Debate. To find out more about the nomination criteria and to nominate click here.

The winner of the 2017 Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year Award was announced at the 10th annual Galah Dinner and Debate. “The award recognises young water professionals – those under 35 who have had outstanding career achievements to date, promoted careers in the water industry and raised awareness of water issues in the community,” Australian Water Association Chief Executive Jonathan McKeown said. “They must also be recognised as possessing the potential to play a large and influential role in the future of the water industry. This year, our two finalists demonstrated these qualities.” The winner was announced as Rebecca Sayles, an Asset Strategy Engineer with TasWater, with a high commendation awarded to Bardia Solati, an Asset Planning Engineer, also with TasWater. Read more here.

First awarded in 2012, the award is named in honour of Gary Ingram, a valued Committee Member of the Australian Water Association – Tasmania’s Branch. Along with a keen involvement in membership and policy, Gary was instrumental in introducing the Galah Debate concept to the Association. In recognition of Gary’s commitment to the water sector the Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year Award has named and is presented in his memory. The Award is presented annually at the Galah Dinner & Debate.

Winners of the Young Water Professional of the Year Award:

  • 2017 – Rebecca Sayles
  • 2016 – Mark Rippon
  • 2015 – Cameron Jessup
  • 2014 – Daniel Ford
  • 2013 – Elizabeth Hickman
  • 2012 – Andy Crawford

Award Category Sponsor:


If you have any queries about the Awards please contact:

Natasha Stapleton

T 0438 246 400
E tasbranch@awa.asn.au