SA Awards

The Australian Water Association’s South Australian Water Awards are the SA water industry’s highest accolades. 

Established in 1996 to recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions to the South Australian water industry, the Awards acknowledge the sector’s “best of the best”, shining a spotlight on exceptional achievements across the state in a range of organizational and individual categories.

Each year the number of entries grows, as do the number of attendees at the annual SA Gala Dinner and Awards Night, where the winners are announced.

This high-profile industry endorsement brings finalists and winners widespread recognition of individual and organizational achievements; generates PR and media opportunities; creates a point of difference from competitors; and generates team and corporate pride.

2018 SA Water Awards - Now Open 

To recognise an outstanding contribution to the SA water industry, nominate yourself, your organisation, a colleague, or student, for a 2018 South Australian Water Award by clicking on the links below. Nominations will close Monday, 1 October 2018 (except Student Water Prize: Submissions for this award will close Monday, 22 October 2018).

Organisational Awards
Individual Awards
Special Award
Nomination for the Premier’s Medal must be made by a current member of the Association’s SA Branch Committee, via the online form.
The Premier's Water Medal/ South Australian Water Professional of the Year

  • Each year the Association’s SA Branch Committee nominates eminent individuals to be considered for the Premier’s Water Medal. 
  • The Medal recognises outstanding individual contribution to the South Australian water industry, or management and conservation of water in the state.
  • To be eligible for the Premiers Water Medal the individual must be a Professional Member of the Association, or an employee of a Corporate Member, have been based in SA for a number of years, have made a significant contribution to the state and/or national and/or international water industry, have an excellent reputation within SA, in other States of Australia and/or internationally for substantial contribution and commitment over an extended period to the social, economic and environmental sustainability of the community of South Australia.
  • The winner will represent South Australia as a finalist for the Water Professional of the Year at the Australian Water Awards, held at Ozwater 7-9 May 2019

Important information

All Awards, aside from the Student awards, are open to Australian Water Association members only. To download the Conditions of Entry click here.
A judging panel will be formed by the Australian Water Association SA Branch Committee, consisting of industry experts. Short-listed entrants will be required to give an oral presentation to the judges for final consideration. 

In addition to your written award submission, you will be required to make a short presentation in person to the SA Awards Judging Panel at the 2018 South Australian Water Awards Presentation Day.
For Research, Infrastructure, Program, and YWP Awards, Presentation Day will be Monday 15 October 2018.
For student entries, Presentation Day will be Monday 5 November 2018.
Organisational Awards
Organisational Awards are exclusive to AWA Corporate Members. 
Where there are multiple partners in an award submission, some who are members and some who are not, the submission is eligible for entry. However marketing and publicity arising from the entry, inclusion as a finalist, and the award, will be limited to AWA Corporate Members.
If you have an award-worthy project, but are not a member, or if you are a non-member partner in a submission, please contact our SA Branch Manger, Cat Murtagh, at to discuss membership benefits.
Frequently asked questions
To download the Awards FAQs, click here.

Thought Leadership Partner

SA Water

2017 SA Award winners
Program Innovation Award
Adelaide Services Alliance Advanced Customer Complaint Mapping Program – Allwater and SA Water

Research Innovation Award
ATUM: Advanced Tertiary Ultrafiltration Management – Allwater, SA Water and SUEZ

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award
Sundrop Farms Project – John Holland Group

The Hodgson Medal: Student Water Prize

Smart Monitoring for Microbial Risk Assessment – Sarah Aucote, Flinders University

Young Water Professional of the Year Award
Adam Medlock, Operations Manager, Riverland Region, TRILITY
The Premier's Water Medal: Water Professional of the Year Award
Richard Hopkins, Chief Executive, International Centre of Excellence in Water Resources Management (ICE WaRM)

For more information about the winners and their winning projects, see the below media release.

Download PDF SA Water Awards winners announced

Photo gallery:
 SA Water Awards winners Photo Gallery

Thanks to our sponsors:
   SA Water Awards Gala Dinner Sponsors

For queries about the SA Awards please contact:

Caitriona Murtagh
P: 0439 893 304   E:

SA Awards Honour Roll

Click here here to see a list of past winners and finalists.