Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Tasmanias water industry flocks to recognise award winners

Tasmania’s water industry flocks to recognise award winners

The winners of the Australian Water Association's (AWA) Tasmanian Water Awards were announced at the Tasmanian Galah Dinner and Awards Presentation Night on 21 November at the Henry Jones Art Hotel in Hobart.

AWA Chief Executive Jonathan McKeown congratulated all finalists and winners for their dedication to the industry and outstanding achievements.

“The Tasmanian Water Awards used to recognise the contribution of the Tasmanian Branch’s youngest water professionals,” McKeown said.

“This year, the awards program was expanded to recognise Tasmania’s exceptional water industry professionals and innovative water infrastructure projects as well. This expansion has led to a number of exceptional award entrants, all worthy of recognition.

“On behalf of the AWA, we would like to congratulate all finalists and winners who embody our purpose to inspire and drive a sustainable water future.”

This year's Tasmanian Water Award winners will go on to represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the AWA's annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’20 in Adelaide on 5-7 May 2020.

TasWater's Lance Stapleton, Cassandre Tickner-Smith, AWA Tasmania Branch President Tim Gardner and Chris Thompson.

The winners

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

24 Glasses​ – TasWater

In 2016 there were 24 water supply systems in Tasmania subject to permanent health alerts. This was inconvenient for residents and damaging to Tasmania’s reputation. By August 2018 all of these alerts were lifted through TasWater’s 24 Glasses campaign in one of the most transformative water projects for Tasmania.

Young Water Professional of the Year Award

Cassandre Tickner-Smith, Environment and Compliance Officer, Tasmanian Irrigation

Cassandre Tickner-Smith is an environmental practitioner who has facilitated continual improvement of Farm Water Access Plans, their development process and auditing method over six years with Tasmanian Irrigation. Combining experience, technical knowledge and practical skills, Tickner-Smith demonstrates how the scientific method can be combined with a collaborative approach to achieve results.

Water Professional of the Year Award

Chris Thompson, Principal Consultant, Macquarie Franklin​

Chris “Thommo” Thompson is a well-known character of the water industry. He’s widely recognised as a blue-sky thinker, leader and mentor who, over a 40-year period, has had significant influence on irrigation development and water management in Australia. He is currently a Principal Consultant at Macquarie Franklin and a Director of Tasmanian Irrigation.

The AWA wishes to congratulate all the award finalists and winners and thank its generous sponsors for their support of these important industry awards.