Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Recognising tasmanias high achievers in tasmanian water awards

Recognising Tasmania’s high achievers in Tasmanian Water Awards

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s Water Awards Tasmania (TAS) have been announced at the TAS Galah Dinner and Awards Night on Thursday, 9 December 2021 at The Aura Restaurant and Bar, Hobart.  

The Tamanian Water Awards recognise the contribution of the Association’s members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects. 

AWA CEO Corinne Cheeseman congratulated all the finalists and winners, noting their outstanding achievements and significant contribution. 

“AWA’s Water Awards recognise the important and groundbreaking work our members do for their communities,” Cheeseman said.     

“The Tasmanian Water Award finalists and winners showcase the best examples of our members’ collective contribution towards our sustainable water future in the state. 

“I congratulate all of the finalists and winners for their dedication, hard work and achievements.” 

This year’s Tasmanian Water Award winners will represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’22 in Brisbane. 


Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (sponsored by SMEC):    
Sewage Intrusion Program - NRM North and Partners 

Water is a highly valued resource. The Sewage Intrusion Program has significantly reduced pollution sources within Launceston’s separated stormwater system by decreasing pathogen and nutrient levels in urban waterways and receiving waterways, which has enhanced the social, economic and environmental values of the kanamaluka/Tamar estuary.  

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (Gary Ingram Memorial Award - Sponsored by Stornoway):    
Ryan Francis, Senior Consultant, Pinion Advisory   

Ryan uses his skills in environmental management, aquatic ecosystems and agriculture to influence change within primary industries. His work, focusing on taking organic wastes away from disposal systems for beneficial reuse for agriculture, has greatly benefited the waterways of Tasmania and its inhabitants. 

Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by Pinion Advisory):   
Kathryn Pugh, Team Leader Water, City of Launceston    

Kathryn is a passionate aquatic ecologist who has spent the last 25 years dedicating her time to continual improved environmental performance across Tasmania. She is an active community leader engaged in many organisations, advocating for ecologically sustainable development, improved water quality, and increased diversity, while enhancing education and awareness of environmental issues across the water industry.  

The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our sponsors and partners, SMEC, Pinion Advisory, Stornoway, CPB Contractors, UGL, COVA, Fulton Hogan and The Tasmanian Government, for their support of these important awards.