Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Spotlight on sustainability and collaboration at victorian water awards

Spotlight on sustainability and collaboration at Victorian Water Awards

The winners of the Australian Water Association's (AWA) Victorian Water Awards were announced yesterday at the Victorian Water Awards Luncheon at ZINC Federation Square.

The Victorian Water Awards recognise the contribution of the AWA's members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects.

In the spirit of collaboration, the AWA partnered with Stormwater Victoria to make the lunch an even greater showcase of innovation and major contributions to the water sector.

Minister for Water Lisa Neville attended the awards lunch and congratulated all finalists and winners for their leadership and outstanding achievements.

“The Association’s annual industry awards recognise the people and projects working to ensure Victoria’s water security into the future,” Neville said.

“Our government strongly supports alternative and innovative ways to save and supply water – such as better use of stormwater, recycled water and desalination and these projects provide great examples of this work.

“The people involved in these projects and those nominated for individual awards demonstrate an extraordinary capacity to lead the water sector and Victoria into the future," Neville added.

“I congratulate all the winners and wish them the best of luck as they go on to represent our state in the national awards next year.”

AWA Chief Executive Jonathan McKeown also congratulated all finalists and winners.

“On behalf of the Association, I would like to congratulate the finalists and winners of the 2019 Victorian Water Awards who all embody our purpose to inspire and drive a sustainable water future,” he said.

The Victorian Water Award winners will go on to represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’20 in Adelaide on 5-7 May 2020.

The winners

Research Innovation Award

Victorian Climate Initiative – Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning, Bureau of Meteorology and CSIRO

Research undertaken through the Victorian Climate Initiative has helped Victoria’s water corporations to plan for a changing climate and provided world class practical advice for incorporating climate change into long-term planning. The legacy of this work is a fundamental change in how the water sector thinks about future planning.

The Barwon Water team with Minister for Water Lisa Neville The Barwon Water team with Minister for Water Lisa Neville (right)

Program Innovation Award

Barwon Water Property Consolidation Program – Barwon Water

Barwon Water’s property consolidation program has delivered an award-winning new head office, new maintenance depot and significant environmental and community benefits - all at no cost to Barwon Water customers. This has been achieved via the development and sale of over 30 surplus landholdings.

High Commendations:

The Aboriginal Water Program – The Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

Zero Emissions Water - Power Purchase Agreement – the Victorian water industry's Intelligent Water Networks

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

Yarra Valley Water Waste to Energy Project – Yarra Valley Water

This project harnesses the power of water utilities to innovate in responding to climate change, population growth and rising costs. The project has saved more than $1 million in power bills and transformed almost 60,000 tonnes of food waste into 11,600 megawatts of clean energy.

High Commendations:

Aquarevo – South East Water and Villawood Properties

Urban Remote Metering – GWMWater

Student Water Prize (sponsored by Eurofins)

Harnessing Immobilised Algae for High Rate Wastewater Treatment – Matthew Kube, RMIT University

Matthew Kube has undertaken a PhD in Chemical Engineering on energy and nutrient recovery during wastewater treatment at the RMIT University WETT Centre. The technology developed is suitable to treat various wastewater and be integrated into new and existing wastewater treatment plants. Matthew has completed his PhD research and is now looking to begin the next step of his career within the water industry.

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by TRILITY)

Dr Paul Satur, Researcher, Monash Water Sensitive Cities, Monash Sustainable Development Institute/Our Future Cities

Dr Paul Satur is an early career environmental and social science researcher with the Centre for Water Sensitive Cities and Co-Founder of the Our Future Cities organisation. His passion and focus lie in developing the knowledge, tools and influence to foster a socially inclusive and vibrant sustainable water future for everyone. With a career spanning just ten years, Paul has made a substantial contribution the Australian water sector to date and is a worthy recipient of the 2019 Victorian Young Water Professional of the Year.

High Commendation:

Brendan Moore, Senior Project Manager, Yarra Valley Water

Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by Fulton Hogan)

Terry Dalgleish, Group Manager Liveability, South East Water

Over the last 30 years, Terry has pioneered several innovative programs and projects that have provided better reliability, liveability, customer support and answers to how we can better use our precious drinking water to address challenges such as climate change and population growth.

One of the many highlights of Terry’s career is the Aquarevo project which he heads up for South East Water. Terry’s contribution to the water industry will continue to have a lasting impact on our customers, community and water security for many years to come.

The AWA wishes to congratulate all the award finalists and winners and thank its generous sponsors for their support of these important industry awards.