Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Awa victorian water awards winners celebrated

AWA Victorian Water Awards winners celebrated

The Australian Water Association's Victorian (VIC) Water Awards winners have been announced at the VIC Gala Dinner and Awards Night on Thursday, 3 November, at Melbourne Town Hall.  

The VIC Water Awards recognise the contribution of the Association's members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects.  

 AWA CEO Corinne Cheeseman congratulated all the finalists and winners, noting their outstanding achievements and significant contribution.  

"I would like to congratulate and recognise the professionals and organisations who are truly making a difference to water management in Victoria," Ms Cheeseman said.  

"As Victoria returns to normal after a challenging few years, it's important for us to come together to recognise and be inspired by the individuals and organisations who are ensuring a secure water future for all Australians."  

This year's VIC Water Award winners will represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association's annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater'23, in Sydney.   


R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia):  

Melbourne Water, The University of Queensland, The University of Melbourne and Ektimo - RealGreenhouse Gas Emission Measurement and Reporting for Real Reductions as We Move Toward Net Zero 

Melbourne Water's greenhouse gas measurement program establishes validated methods to accurately measure and quantify emissions from sewage treatment, significantly improving industry knowledge and reporting methodologies. Accurate emission measurement is critical to assess mitigation strategy effectiveness as we move towards a net-zero carbon future, ensuring our efforts focus on real reductions.  

Highly Commended

Yarra Valley Water and Decentralised Water Australia- YVW Park Orchards Sewerage Trial 

Water Research Australia-horizontal

Organisational Excellence Award: (sponsored by Fulton Hogan): 

Goulburn Valley Water - Enhancing Liveability and Prosperity in the Goulburn Valley  

Goulburn Valley Water's 'Healthy and Prosperous Communities' program incorporates several innovative projects and initiatives that drive liveability, environmental excellence, local job creation, economic growth opportunities, and community wellbeing. Three projects over the last two years have demonstrated this impact and benefit for industry and community in the Goulburn Valley region.  

Fulton Hogan-horizontal

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (METRO):  

Melbourne Water, Stantec and John Holland-KBR Joint Venture - Shakespeare Grove Main Drain Outlet Renewal 

Together Melbourne Water, John Holland-KBR Joint Venture and Stantec delivered the design and construction of the renewal of the Shakespeare Grove main drain outlet. The team not only delivered a drain outlet that reduced flooding to the community, they included a viewing platform that energised community interest and connectedness to the project. 

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (REGIONAL):  

GWMWater and Interflow - Design and Construction of the Mt Cole Pipeline Renewal 

When a failing section of raw water pipeline in regional Victoria needed urgent attention, GWMWater and Interflow challenged conventions and found a solution that overcame significant access and environmental constraints. Together, they delivered a record-breaking rehabilitation project that secured the Ararat community's water supply for generations.  

Highly Commended

North Central Catchment Management Authority, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning, Goulburn Murray Water and Jacobs - Koondrook Weir Fishway 

Student Water Prize (Sponsored by Eurofins):  

Minh Duc Nguyen - Deakin University  

Turning Waste into a Resource: Developing Novel End-Use Pathways for Water Treatment Sludge 

Minh Duc Nguyen is currently working as a PhD student on a collaborative research project between Water Research Australia, Deakin University and Barwon Water to develop innovative technologies to reuse and manage water treatment sludge. Minh Duc was awarded the 2020 Nancy Millis Memorial PhD Award and an Australia Award in 2013.  


Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem):  

Sian Harrick - Process Engineer, Arup  

Sian Harrick is a highly respected process engineer with experience working on projects locally and internationally. With a passion for sustainable development, innovation and equitable access to clean water for all, Sian is committed to driving positive change for communities through her project and pro bono work.  

Highly Commended

Heidi Biggin - Culture Development Officer, Central Highlands Water  


Water Professional of the Year (Sponsored by KSB):  

Nina Braid - Aboriginal Partnerships Manager, Yarra Valley Water  

Nina is leading and transforming how the water industry works with Traditional Custodians. She is a relationship builder, influencer, enabler and change-maker. Her impact continues to ripple through Yarra Valley Water and beyond, building respect, trust, curiosity, learning, confidence, unity and goodwill.  


The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our sponsors, GHD, Greater Western Water, Melbourne Water, South East Water, Yarra Valley Water, Water Research Australia, Fulton Hogan, Xylem and KSB, for their support of this event and these important industry awards. 

A video celebrating all our VIC Award winners can be found here.

The photo gallery from the night can be found here.