Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > South australian water sector celebrates its achievements at water awards

South Australian water sector celebrates its achievements at water awards

SA Winners

The Australian Water Association (AWA) Water Awards SA winners were announced at the SA Gala Dinner & Awards Night on Friday, 18 November, at the Adelaide Convention Centre. 

The Australian Water Association (AWA) Water Awards SA winners were announced at the SA Gala Dinner & Awards Night on Friday, 18 November, at the Adelaide Convention Centre. 

These water awards recognise the contribution of the Association's members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and projects. 

Australian Water Association CEO Corinne Cheeseman congratulated all the finalists and winners for their significant contributions and outstanding achievements. 

“There were several award entries this year, and it is inspiring to see nominations from a mix of local and state government, universities, as well as private and public sector organisations,” Ms Cheeseman said.  
“This year, we have seen projects showcasing innovation in managing our reservoirs, wetlands and the Coorong.  
“We have seen research around managing the growing risks that climate change poses, whether through managing natural disasters or greenhouse gas emissions. 
“The efforts of the state’s water professionals will continue to inspire positive change in the sector and the broader community.  
“I would like to congratulate all finalists and winners who embody our purpose to inspire and drive a sustainable water future.”  
This year's winners will go on to represent South Australia in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’23, in Sydney. 


Organisational Excellence Award 
SA Water – Activating South Australia’s Reservoir Reserves for Recreation 

Underpinned by the best-available science and supported by leading-edge technologies, opening South Australian reservoir reserves for recreational access has proven that drinking water utilities can play an even broader role supporting the health, sustainability, and prosperity of our community.  

R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia): 
Department for Environment and Water, Flinders University, The University of Adelaide, The University of South Australia, and other contributing organisations – Goyder Institute Healthy Coorong, Healthy Basin Research Plan 

The Goyder Institute Healthy Coorong, Healthy Basin Research Program generated critical knowledge and capability for the future of the Coorong. Involving 72 researchers and 13 organisations in 5 collaborative and transdisciplinary teams, the research is informing management decisions for the Coorong, ensuring that the Coorong continues to provide important ecological, cultural, social and economic values.  
Highly Commended 
SA Water – SA Water’s Integrated Investment Approach of Protect Adelaide Coastal Waters 

Water Research Australia-horizontal


Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Metro) (sponsored by SUEZ) 
Tonkin Consulting and DesignFlow – Victoria Park Pakapanthi Wetland 

The Victoria Park Pakapakanthi Wetland project successfully delivers a diverse range of engineering, environmental and landscape design. Tonkin’s specialist hydrology and hydraulic engineering expertise, combined with our in-depth knowledge gained through our historical involvement in the project, produced exceptional outcomes that will have ongoing environmental, economic, social and safety benefits.  

Highly Commended 
SA Water, Aurecon, John Holland Guidera O’Connor and WPS – UV Lighting Up Water Treatment at Happy Valley 



Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Regional) (sponsored by SUEZ) 
The Department for Environment and Water, the Jacobs Group and SA Water – Pike Floodplain Inundation Measures Project (South Australian Riverland Floodpains Integrated Infrastructure Program) 

The Pike Floodplain was in severe ecological decline due to a lack of natural flooding. This project, supported by the community and Traditional Owners, has resulted in transformational opportunities for managed inundation. Through collaboration, innovative design solutions and successful initial inundation events, the journey to ecological restoration is clearly underway.  

Highly Commended 
SA Water, Nova Systems, Lucid Consulting Australia – Bushfire Proofing Water and Wastewater Assets



Student Water Prize
Sarah Aucote, SA Water and the University of Queensland – Quantification of Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Sludge-Drying Lagoons and Strategies for Methane Emission Mitigation 

Sarah Aucote completed a Bachelor of Science specialising in Biotechnology at Flinders University. Her Honours research with SA Water on the microbial risk assessment of source water prompted her interest in the microbiology of water science, and lead to her industry-based PhD at SA Water with the University of Queensland on wastewater GHG emissions.  


Young Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by Xylem) 
Loreline Kerlidou, Senior Advisor, Inside Infrastructure (a Ricardo Company) 

Loreline is a well-respected member of the water industry in South Australia. Through her industry leadership roles at the AWA YWP, WaterAid and valued contributions to Australian water utilities, mining companies and government, Loreline builds connections and develops a shared approach for a sustainable water future in Australia and beyond.  



Premier’s Medal – Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by the Department for Environment and Water) 
David Howard, Business Development and Strategy Manager, Fulton Hogan 

As a water professional for 25+ years, David is dedicated to the sector. He has been an important contributor in establishing many long-term collaborative contracts and is an advocate in promoting the water sector through development of Fulton Hogan’s STEM Program and working with both the AWA and WaterAid. 

Gov SA_Dept for Environment and Water

The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our sponsors, SA Water, Ricardo, Department for Environment and Water, SUEZ, Xylem, Water Research Australia and Fulton Hogan, for their support of this event and these important industry awards. 

A video celebrating all our SA Award winners can be found here.

The photo gallery from the night can be found here.