Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Excellence recognised in act and qld water awards

Excellence recognised in ACT and QLD Water Awards

A number of outstanding individuals and organisations have been recognised for their work across the ACT and QLD water sectors.

Last week was a week of recognition as we announced the winners of the ACT Water Awards at the ACT Water Leaders Dinner on Thursday evening and then the QLD Water Awards at the Queensland Gala Dinner & Awards Night on Friday.

“The awards recognise the outstanding contribution of individuals and organisations in the water industry across innovation, research, infrastructure and delivery of water projects,” Australian Water Association Chief Executive Jonathan McKeown said.

“As an industry we congratulate the dedication, passion and enthusiasm shown by our members who are genuinely making a difference to the sector and to our communities as a whole.”
The winners of the ACT Water Awards and the QLD Water Awards will automatically be entered into the equivalent National Australian Water Awards category, which will be presented at Ozwater’18 in Brisbane next year.

2017 ACT Water Award winners

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

Using Optimisation Models for Sewer Investment Planning – Icon Water and AECOM

Research Innovation Award

Enlarged Cotter Dam Fish Monitoring and Research – Icon Water

Student Water Prize

Identifying Critical Natural Resource Management Regions For Public Health – Aparna Lal, Australian National University

Young Water Professional of the Year Award

Bianca Petrevski, Acting Senior Stakeholder Engagement Officer, Icon Water

2017 QLD Water Award winners

Research Innovation Award

Purple Phototrophic Bacteria for Resource Recovery from Wastewater – The University of Queensland and CRC for Water Sensitive Cities

Program Innovation Award

Cyanotoxin Based Recreational Water Quality Management Program – Seqwater

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

Kingaroy Wastewater Treatment Plant Upgrade – Aquatec Maxcon Pty Ltd and South Burnett Regional Council

Student Water Prize

Understanding the ecological basis for human health risks associated with drinking water drawn from a sub-tropical freshwater catchment – Adam Rose, CQUniversity

Young Water Professional of the Year Award

Katrin Doederer, Research Fellow, The University of Queensland

Water Professional of the Year Award

Colin Hester, Manager Commercial Water & Trade Waste, Queensland Urban Utilities

Regional Service Award

Steve Tansley, Director, Tansley Consulting

Distinguished Service Award

John Betts, Principal, Betts Advisory

Check out some highlights from the Queensland Water Awards evening here.