Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Sa gala awards dinner

True colours at the 2023 SA Gala & Awards Dinner

It truly was the nights of nights when members, firms, sponsors and award finalists and winners came to the Adelaide Convention Centre for the True Colors themed 2023 SA Gala & Awards Dinner.

image (11)


The Hon Emily Bourke MP, Assistant Minister to the Premier, presented the Premier’s Medal for the SA Water Professional of the Year to Dr. Lionel Ho and gave a very meaningful speech on the night.



Also providing a truly inspirational talk was Veronique Bourbeau from Run for Humanity.

image (12)Veronique Bourbeau (Founder of Run for Humanity) is an Ultra Runner Adventurer, Public Speaker and Author of “Fearless: One Woman’s transformational journey from a treadmill to running the African Continent”.  

Run for Humanity, will be running more than 14 000kms from Alexandria to Cape Town (that means the entire Africa Continent from the North to South). The objective is to give clean and safe water (through water filters) to the most remote people in the villages in Africa, who don’t have access to clean and safe water.

They are committed to provide water to at least 3 million of people on our route, who doesn’t have access to the basic resources which is water.

image (13)

The Welcome to Country by Frank Wangneen left all the attendees reflective of how we can be a better nation by coming together and being united as one people, one place, one unifying culture.

Will Mcdonald two


The MC on the night was Will McDonald, the very popular Adelaide boy and Channel 9 news reader and he certainly made sure he the night ran smoothly, on time and all with a great sense of humour and entertainment.

Throughout the night and to keep things interesting a rolling presentation of attendees showing their True Colours was played to the amusement and enjoyment of attendees. We saw people following their passions and doing activities that they love best from riding bikes, in the workplace with their team, participating in charity events, fishing, playing any amount of sports and pursuing leisure pastime’s. It certainly made the Theme of Show Your True Colours come alive.

SA Award Winners Cropped


Organisational Excellence Award 

Women in Trades program - Fulton Hogan

Fulton Hogan Utilities (FHU) has launched their ‘Women in Trades’ program aimed at promoting the water industry and various pathways available to young women to enter the workforce. The initiative sets out to get the interest of young female students to increase diversity in our sector.

R&D Excellence Award (Sponsored by Water Research Australia): 

Water Research Australia-horizontal-1
The Fellowship of the Rubber Ring – A Precious Journey to Ensure Water Quality Compliance - SA Water

Research into the occurrence of unacceptable levels of N-nitrosodimethylamine detected during commissioning of newly installed pipelines in housing developments identified rubber joining rings as the source. Collaboration with industry stakeholders resulted in the amendment of the AS/NZS 4020 (2018) standard to ensure future water quality compliance of newly installed pipes.  

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Regional) (Sponsored by WSP Australia):  


Future Proofing the Pacific: a Sustainable Model for Water Security in the Marshall Islands - Osmoflo

From its base in South Australia, Osmoflo has been able to assist several remote or disaster-affected populations around the world with the provision of safe drinking water. Osmoflo is very proud of the work they have done on Marshall Islands.

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Metro):  

Showcasing Sustainable Development through Grassy Woodland Restoration - SA Water

Discover SA Water's Millbrook Reservoir Grassy Woodland Restoration Project, a testament to proactive environmental leadership. The project has doubled biodiversity, welcomed back threatened species, engaged and inspired the community.

The Hodgson Medal - Student Water Prize (Sponsored by Government of South Australia & Infrastructure SA): 

NW-logo-fullcolorSouth Australia Government-stackimage-png-Oct-30-2023-10-03-41-0948-PM

Hiua Daraei, University of South Australia – New Water Treatment and Coagulant Dose Control Systems for DWTPs: fDOM Fluorescence Signal Corrections for Environmental-Monitoring and Coagulant Dose Control.

Hiua is a UniSA-STEM PhD candidate (thesis under examination). Hiua’s PhD project was an ARC LP project, collaborating with Seqwater, Melbourne Water, SA Water and Xylem. Hiua has begun a research fellow position at Griffith University, where he is tasked with implementing the dose control models developed in Seqwater’s DWTPs.

Young Water Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Xylem): 
Jack Carbone, Project / Design Manager at Aurecon

Jack is a passionate engineer who specialises in project and design management. He has made key contributions to improving sustainability in the water industry and connecting emerging water professionals. His achievements include leadership roles in a range of SA Water initiatives including Zero Cost Energy Future. 

Premier's Medal - Water Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Department for Environment and Water): 

South Australia Government-Department for Environment and Water

Dr Lionel Ho, Senior Manager Water Expertise at SA Water

Lionel has over 25 years’ experience in the water industry. He is currently SA Water’s Senior Manager Water Expertise, where he leads a team of 29 water professionals. Lionel has been a leader in the Australian Water Association, International Water Association and the Water Industry Alliance for many years.

The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our partners and sponsors for supporting this event and these important industry awards. 

See 2023 Finalists

Special Thanks
Gala Dinner & Award Subcommittees

Gala Dinner Subcommittee

Brett Reichstein (Chair)
Carmen Wentrock
Lionel Ho
Adam Tomlinson
Jodieann Dawe 
Justin Brookes
Sushrut Kulkarni
Ben Thwaites 
Julien Anese 
Marc Doyle

Award Subcommittee
Danni Haworth (Chair) 
Jodieann Dawe 
Kelly Hill 
Christina Bruno 
Steve Morton
Claire Hayward



Thought Leadership Partner

SA Water-stack

Premier's Water Medal - Water Professional of the Year Award Sponsor

SA Department for Environment and Water-logo

National Young Water Professional of the Year Award Sponsor


R&D Excellence Award Sponsor

Infrastructure Project Innovation (Regional) Award Sponsor


Hodgson Medal - Student Water Prize

Entertainment Partner


Networking Partner
Sequana ONLY Logo_RGB-png-1

Dessert Partner
Guidera O Connor