Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Celebrating the winners of the vic water awards

Celebrating the winners of the VIC Water Awards

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s Victorian (VIC) Water Awards have been announced at the 58th Annual Awards Gala on 28 March at Crown Melbourne. 

The VIC Water Awards recognise the contribution of the Association’s members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects.

AWA CEO Corinne Cheeseman extended her congratulations to all the finalists and winners, noting their outstanding achievements and significant contribution. 

"AWA's Water Awards recognise the important and groundbreaking work our members do for their communities," Cheeseman said.

“The Victorian Water Award finalists and winners showcase the best examples of our members’ collective contribution towards our sustainable water future."

“I congratulate all of the finalists and winners for their dedication, hard work and achievements.”

This year’s VIC Water Award winners will go on to represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’22 in Brisbane.  


Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (REGIONAL):

KBR, Goulburn Valley Water, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning, North East Water, and Decentralised Water Australia Web-Based Decision Support Tool for Regional Wastewater Management

KBR, DWA, GVW and DELWP developed an automated web-based decision support tool to help identify preferred wastewater management solutions for regional towns across Victoria, transitioning from poor performing septic tank systems to fit for purpose sustainable integrated wastewater management solutions. 

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (METRO):  

Melbourne Water, Alluvium Consulting Australia - Reimagining Your Creek

Reimagining Your Creek is a program aimed at transforming stormwater drains and creeks into natural waterways and desirable open spaces. The community led process means that the people using the space influence the designs to meet their needs and preferences.  Blind Creek and Arnolds Creek are two projects delivered under the program. 

R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia):  

South East Water, Greater Western Water and Intelligent Water Networks Australian-First Technology – the Next Step in Biosolids Innovation Transforming Local Circular Economies 

The new pilot plant scale biosolids pyrolysis technology, developed by RMIT University in collaboration with South East Water, Intelligent Water Networks and Greater Western Water, is the first of its kind in Australia. The technology removes pathogens and emerging contaminants from biosolids creating biochar, a product which is safer to use.  

Organisational Excellence Award (sponsored by Fulton Hogan):  

Barwon Water Aboriginal Employment and Retention Strategy 

The strategy is a key commitment under the Barwon Water Innovate Reconciliation Action Plan. At the heart of this framework is understanding and embedding Aboriginal Cultural Values and the holistic wellbeing of Aboriginal Peoples.  It provides the foundations for creating and delivering culturally appropriate, respectful and meaningful outcomes for Aboriginal employees. 

Student Water Prize (Sponsored by Eurofins):  

Eliza Venville, Monash University Missing Voices: Engaging Family Violence-Affected Water Customers 

Eliza's research shines a spotlight on the experience of family violence-affected water customers, with a particular focus on economic abuse. Based on her interviews with victim-survivor customers, Eliza's research evaluates the 2017 water sector family violence policy changes from victim-survivor perspectives and makes recommendations for change. 

Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem):  

Gabby Butera, Process Engineer, Arup 

Gabby Butera is an exceptional and innovative chemical and process engineer with significant experience both locally and internationally. Gabby is respected by both clients and colleagues. She is recognised for her research and has a passion for pro-bono projects and promotion of confidence for women in the industry through mentoring.   

Highly Commended: Candice Blackney, Senior Corrosion Management Engineer, Greater Western Water   

Water Professional of the Year:  

Eamonn Kelly, General Manager, Major Program Delivery, Melbourne Water 

General Manager, Major Program Delivery, Melbourne Water by day. Social justice champion by night. Eamonn Kelly, is a visionary who leads by example. From safety, delivery, sustainability and social value, Eamonn continues to leave his mark - not only on the water sector, but more importantly on the lives of many in our State and Country. 


The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our program partners, GHD, Melbourne Water, South East Water, Yarra Valley Water, Greater Western Water, Arup, Programmed, Water Research Australia, Xylem, Eurofins, and Fulton Hogan, for their support of these important industry awards.