The Tasmanian branch of the AWA is now offering an expanded suite of individual and organisational awards in order to recognise the achievements of our individual and corporate members. State winners are provided the opportunity to enter into the National Water Awards which are presented at Ozwater each year.

Award Nominations now open for 2021
The 2021 Winners will be announced at the TAS Galah Dinner in November 2021.
Please note the submission closing date has been extended to 8 October 2021 (Original closing date: 1 October 2021).

The TAS Branch Awards Categories:

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (Gary Ingram Memorial Award)

First awarded in 2012, the award is named in honour of Gary Ingram, a valued Committee Member of the Australian Water Association – Tasmania’s Branch. Along with a keen involvement in membership and policy, Gary was instrumental in introducing the Galah Debate concept to the Association. In recognition of Gary’s commitment to the water sector the Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year Award has named and is presented in his memory.

Previous Winners of the Young Water Professional of the Year Award:

  • 2020 - Adela Parnell
  • 2019 – Cassandre Tickner-Smith
  • 2018 – Matthew Robertson
  • 2017 – Rebecca Sayles

Award Category Sponsor:

Water Professional of the Year Award

Previous Winner of the Water Professional of the Year Award:

  • 2020 - Stephen Westgate, Senior Water Quality Scientist, TasWater
  • 2019 – Chris Thompson, Principal Consultant, Macquarie Franklin

Award Category Sponsor:

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Regional)

Previous Winner of the Infrastructure Project Innovation Award:

  • 2020 - Trevallyn Downstream Bypass, Hydro Tasmania
  • 2019 – 24 Glasses, TasWater

Award Category Sponsor:

Video: How to put together a great awards submission (Tasmanian Water Awards Program Q&A)

Why enter the Awards:

  • Recognition of your / your organisation’s achievements.
  • Motivate your team and develop corporate pride.
  • Distinguish yourself from your competitors.
  • National benefits of a recognised endorsement from your industry.
  • Creation of PR / media promotion opportunities.

If you have any queries about the Awards, including nomination and application requirements, please contact:

Natasha Stapleton
T 0438 246 400

Important information
The Tasmanian Water Awards are open to Australian Water Association members only. To download the Conditions of Entry click here.

Frequently asked questions
To view the Award FAQs, click here.