NSW Water Awards Honour Roll

2018 NSW Award Winners

The winners of the 2018 NSW Water Awards were announced on Friday, 9 March at the NSW Heads of Water Gala Dinner and Awards. The winners will proceed to the national awards as finalists, with the winners announced at the Ozwater’18 Gala Dinner in front of 1,000 attendees. View all the finalists here and check out the winners below.

Program Innovation Award
System Blueprints Program – Sydney Water, AAJV: AECOM-Aurecon Joint Venture, and ENSureJV: GHD-Jacobs Joint Venture

Research Innovation Award
Success in Data Analytics – Sydney Water and Data61 Collaboration – Data61, CSIRO and Sydney Water

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award
Googong Township Integrated Water Cycle – Stantec

Highly Commended:
Parkes Integrated Water Infrastructure Renewal Project – Parkes Shire Council

Student Water Prize
Robust Sensor Technologies Combined with Smart Predictive Analytics for Modelling Concrete Corrosion in Sewers – Karthick Thiyagarajan, University of Technology Sydney

Kamal Fernando Mentoring Award
Saravanamuth Vigneswaran, Director, Centre for Technologies in Water and Wastewater, The University of Technology Sydney

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by Monadelphous)
Casey Magee, Senior Process Engineer, GHD

Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by TRILITY)
Daniel Lambert, Australasia Water Leader, Arup

For more information about the winners and their winning projects, see the below media release.

Download PDF New South Wales Water Award winners announced

NSW Water Award Winners

 Thank you to our NSW Award Program Sponsor:

Thank you to our NSW Water Professional of the Year sponsor:

Thank you to our NSW Young Water Professional of the Year sponsor:


2017 NSW Award Winners


The winners of the 2017 NSW Water Awards were announced on Friday 10 March at the NSW Heads of Water Gala Dinner and Awards.
Click here for event photo album

Water Professional of the Year (Sponsored by TRILITY)
Carmel Krogh, Director Shoalhaven Water
Carmel has been a leader in the Water Industry throughout her career. From when she was the first female engineer to graduate from UTS to her leadership as Director of Shoalhaven Water and as a Director of the Australian Water Association. What makes Carmel so effective, is how well she connects with a broad range of people, from employees on the tools through to Chairs of Boards, from individual customers through to Regulators, which she has to manage and influence on a day to day basis. Carmel’s natural ability to engage, has contributed significantly to her many professional successes.

Young Water Professional of the Year Award  (Sponsored by Monadelphous Engineering) 
Shona Fitzgerald, Engineer, Sydney Water
Shona exemplifies the motivated, community-minded, young water professional, with the outcomes of her work always focused on developing human-centred solutions. She has shared knowledge through published work in national and international journals, has presented at conferences across the country and has authored a book chapter for the United Nations University Institute for Water Environment and Health. Her work has introduced more effective ways of improving the environmental performance of wastewater treatment plants and of planning water and wastewater services. Shona’s personal investment in her own growth and development ensures that the impact she makes to the water industry will only grow over time.

Student Water Prize (formerly Undergraduate Water Prize)
Kaitlyn Bell, Shoalhaven Water and the University of Wollongong  - Development of a Performance Measuring Device for Improved Monitoring of Sewer Pump Stations
Kaitlyn’s thesis, addresses the requirement for an accurate and reliable method to measure the operational performance of sewer pumps. Her project delivers a new, revolutionary, mobile method which has significantly changed the accuracy of testing. This device has the potential to significantly reduce operational costs, decrease expensive reactive maintenance, and educate staff on the operation of Sewer Pump Stations in the network.

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award Yamba Sewerage Augmentation - Clarence Valley Council, Public Works Advisory and DPI Water The Yamba Sewerage Augmentation provides treatment capacity for ultimate development, maximises beneficial reuse of recycled water while minimising environmental impacts.  Innovations in community engagement and construction procurement enabled the $43.3 million project to be completed 14% below pre-tender estimate while addressing significant environmental, construction and engineering challenges. Program Innovation Award 
Keep wipes out of the pipes - Sydney Water
Sydney Water’s innovative communications and behaviour change program, ‘Keep wipes out of the Pipes’ - has significantly raised national awareness and advocacy of the many issues associated with wet wipes in the wastewater system. With minimal resources, the program's sustained publicity has broken new ground on customer and industry engagement on the issue.

Research Innovation Award
Better management of sewers – Exploiting Photonics Sensors Research through to its Introduction to the Water Industry, Sydney Water, City University of London and Edinburgh Napier University
Sydney Water annually spends around $60m to $80m on the management and rehabilitation of deteriorated concrete gravity sewers and corrosion at treatment facilities. This collaborative research project has focused on the development of a new class of photonic humidity sensors with specialized, tailored coatings designed specifically to operate under highly biofouling and corrosive conditions. As a result of this successful research Sydney Water will implement these sensors in sewer locations and the findings will contribute to the future design of sewers.


NSW Kamal Fernando Mentoring Award (Sponsored by NSW Public Works Advisory) (State based award only, this award recognises the outstanding efforts of water professionals mentors)
Andrew Francis, Director Infrastructure, Parkes Shire Council
Andrew’s long-term commitment to coaching his staff, not only to undertake their own jobs but to mentor their staff, has resulted in a strong team committed to continuous improvement. As Chair of the Centroc Water Utilities Alliance, Andrew was instrumental in setting up the Training and Mentoring Workforce Resource Sharing Plan and supporting Mentoring templates. His work has resulted in professional development throughout the region and beyond – as these staff take their skills into the wider industry.

NSW Roger Pettitt Award (State-based award only & nominated by the NSW Committee, this award is made to an AWA Committee member (current or past 2 years) to recognise their distinguished contribution to the Australian water industry.)
2016 Winner: Will Strachan (Announced at the NSW Legends of Water)

2015/16 Winners

The following winners were announced on 11 March 2016 at the NSW Heads of Water & Awards Dinner
NSW Water Professional of the Year • Dr Fang Chen, Data61 
NSW Young Water Professional of the Year • Kathryn Silvester, Sydney Water 
NSW Program Innovation Award • Lake Macquarie Sports Field Improvement Program, Lake Macquarie City Council 
NSW Infrastructure Project Innovation Award • Treating high sugar wastewater – BioGill Operations Pty Ltd & Ferrero Australia
NSW Research Innovation Award • Advanced Condition Assessment and Pipe Failure Prediction Project, Sydney Water 
NSW Kamal Fernando Mentoring Award

• Rita Henderson, UNSW