Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Celebrating the water awards winners at the sa gala dinner and awards night

Celebrating the Water Awards winners at the SA Gala Dinner and Awards Night

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s Water Awards South Australia (SA) have been announced at the SA Gala Dinner and Awards Night on Friday 12 November 2021 at Adelaide Convention Centre. 

The Water Awards SA recognise the contribution of the Association’s members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs, and infrastructure projects. 

AWA CEO Corinne Cheeseman extended congratulations to all the finalists and winners, noting their outstanding achievements and significant contribution.  

“AWA’s Water Awards recognise the important and ground-breaking work our members do in managing water for their communities,” Cheeseman said.    

“The South Australian Water Award finalists and winners showcase the best examples of innovation and are a reflection of our members' collective contribution towards our sustainable water future.   

“From delivering sustainable recycled water use and leading the way in cultural collaboration with Indigenous communities to designing innovative solutions in wastewater treatment and optimising the sustainability of energy generation, the people and projects we are celebrating demonstrate the astonishing work underway across South Australia.”  

This year’s Water Award SA winners will represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’22 in Brisbane.   


R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia):  
Goyder Institute for Water Research - Second Term Research Program (2015-2020) – The Department for Environment and Water, CSIRO, Flinders University, The University of Adelaide and The University of South Australia  
Other supporting organisations: ICE WaRM  
The Goyder Institute collaboration delivered high-quality, independent research to inform priority government policies. The research is supporting the wellbeing of First Nations; delivering economic outcomes through sustainable use of recycled water and the discovery of new outback water; increasing carbon sequestration; and improving the health of the River Murray.  

Organisational Excellence Award: 
Cultural Connection and Collaboration Guides Southeast Prescribed Burn – SA Water and The Department for Environment and Water 
Other supporting Organisations: Burrandies Aboriginal Corporation, Southeast Aboriginal Focus Group and Landscapes SA Limestone Coast  
SA Water worked collaboratively with Aboriginal communities and government agencies to deliver a prescribed burn at SA Water’s Fingerpoint wastewater treatment plant in the south east. They incorporated cultural knowledge and provided Aboriginal communities with an opportunity to manage land using traditional ecological knowledge and share cultural knowledge, setting a benchmark for cultural inclusion in future prescribed burns.  

Highly Commended  
How the Adelaide Service Delivery Pillars of People, Customer and Operational Excellence Guided the Transformation of Services to our 1.2 Million Metropolitan Adelaide Customers – SA Water, SUEZ and Lendlease 

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (REGIONAL):  
Port Lincoln Wastewater Treatment Plant Redevelopment – SA Water and Aurecon 
A collaborative, multidisciplinary team designed a bespoke “circular” solution for the Port Lincoln Wastewater Treatment Plant. The innovative and tailored approach is efficient, sustainable, and cost-effective, with the capacity to support future community and business growth.  

Highly Commended  
Summit Storage Tank for Port Lincoln – SA Water, McConnell Dowell Diona Joint Venture and Concept Environmental Services 

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (METRO):  

SA Water’s Zero Cost Energy Future Program – SA Water, KBR and Aurecon 
Other supporting Organisations: Enerven and Clutch Consulting 
SA Water’s industry-leading Zero Cost Energy Future is a highly innovative approach to optimising energy generation and use. Solar PV and battery storage at multiple locations work with sophisticated technology that manages the use and export of electricity to reduce operating costs and improve the sustainability of services. This project was in collaboration with Enerven and Clutch Consulting.   

The Hodgson Medal: Student Water Prize: 
High-Resolution Pipe Condition Assessment and Scanning for Water Distribution Systems – Wei Zeng, The University of Adelaide 
Wei’s PhD has focused on developing non-invasive and cost-effective techniques for high-resolution pipe condition assessment. It enables targeted pipe maintenance and rehabilitation. Wei’s research drives the evolution of the current reactive management of water distribution systems to proactive and preventative management.  

Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem):  
Brittany Coff – Senior Water Resources Engineer, Jacobs 
Brittany brings together experience and passion for water resources strategy, project management and sustainability to develop innovative solutions which benefit the environment and communities. She contributes to the sustainable management of water throughout the Murray Darling Basin and improves the effectiveness of water technology projects in developing contexts.  

The Premier’s Water Medal: Water Professional of the Year (Sponsored by The Department for Environment and Water): 
Victor Cantone, Section Executive, Water, WSP 
Victor is an exceptional and highly talented Executive at WSP and has played a significant role locally and nationally in shaping WSP’s Water Business. A former SA Chair, and a prominent figure amongst the AWA community, Victor also devotes his time and learnings to enhance the water community and its next generation.   

The Australian Water Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our sponsors and partners, SA Water, The Department for Environment and Water, SUEZ, Fulton Hogan, Water Research Australia, Xylem, for their support of these important industry awards.