Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Celebrating the winners of the nt water awards

Celebrating the winners of the NT Water Awards

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s Northern Territory  Water Awards have been announced at the Water in the Bush Conference Dinner on 14 October in Darwin.  

The NT Water Awards recognise the contribution of the Association’s members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects.  

Australian Water Association CEO Corinne Cheeseman paid tribute to all the finalists and winners for their significant contributions and outstanding achievements. 

“AWA’s Water Awards recognise the important and groundbreaking work our members do for their communities,” Cheeseman said.    

“The NT Water Award finalists and winners showcase the best examples of our members’ collective contribution towards our sustainable water future. 

“I congratulate all of the finalists and winners for their dedication, hard work and achievements.” 

This year’s NT Water Award winners will represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’22, in Brisbane on 10-12 May 2022. 


Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem):  

Jocelyn Ellero – SMEC  

Jocelyn moved to the Northern Territory in early 2020 and is committed to delivering life-changing water projects for the Darwin community. She was recently appointed as the Area Manager of the SMEC Darwin business, making her the youngest and first female Area Manager across the SMEC Australia business. Over her career, Jocelyn has made a remarkable contribution to the water sector in Australia and overseas. Jocelyn advocates for water sustainability as Chief-Curator of Franc – an initiative to make the water industry future-focused, resilient, adaptive and networked.   

Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by WaterRA):  

Professor Charlie Fairfield – Charles Darwin University 

Charlie is a teacher, mentor, academic and researcher, who over the last 5 years, has led a broad range of water engineering projects. Working with industry, Charlie focuses on creating powerful linkages and collaboration between academia and industry to find solutions for current and future challenges.  

Charlie is passionate about the professional development of students, participating in school outreach and mentoring programs to inspire others to think differently and empower them to achieve their goals. He is an outstanding leader of the water community in the Territory, Australia and internationally.   


The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners. Thanks to our generous sponsors Xylem, WaterRA, Power and Water Corporation, Trop Water and Challenger Valves and Actuators for their support of these important industry awards and the Water in the Bush Conference.