Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > Celebrating the winners of the act water awards

Celebrating the winners of the ACT Water Awards

ACT Award Winners

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s ACT Water Awards have been announced at the ACT Water Leaders Dinner on 17 February at the Hyatt Canberra.

The ACT Water Awards recognise the contribution of the Association’s members for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects.

AWA CEO Corinne Cheeseman extended her congratulations to all the finalists and winners, noting their outstanding achievements and significant contribution.

“AWA’s Water Awards recognise the important and groundbreaking work our members do for their communities,” Cheeseman said.   
“The ACT Water Award finalists and winners showcase the best examples of our members’ collective contribution towards our sustainable water future.

“I congratulate all of the finalists and winners for their dedication, hard work and achievements.”

This year’s ACT Water Award winners will go on to represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association’s annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater’22 in Brisbane.


Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (METRO):

Icon Water and Aurecon – Adaptive planning to enhance Canberra’s preparedness for future droughts

Water utilities plan for a changing climate, however, the severity of droughts is unpredictable. Aurecon led the development of an adaptive roadmap of alternative water supply options for Canberra’s preparedness for droughts. This has equipped Icon Water with improved decision-making flexibility, and sustainable water supply, in response to future droughts.

Student Water Prize (Sponsored by Eurofins):

Gowri Pincombe, GHD – Women’s Empowerment Through Learning and Working Together

Gowri’s research focuses on improving the water management skills of rural small agricultural landholder farmers while transforming their learning processes. The ACIAR funded project was implemented by the University of Canberra in Pakistan.. Gowri’s findings show how “water action” can remove barriers, promote equity, and transform societies.

Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem):

Advait Madav, Design Engineer, Alluvium

Advait is a passionate Young Water Professional working with Alluvium in Australia and across Indo-Pacific on Integrated Water Management and water policy framework. Through his work bringing the Australian and Indian water sectors together, he aims to enable sharing of knowledge and create connections to Inspire improved sustainable water management.

The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our program partners, Xylem, Water Research Australia, Eurofins, Icon Water, GHD, SMEC, Interflow, Downer, Alluvium, and Calibre, for their support of these important industry awards.


About the Australian Water Association

Australian Water Association is Australia’s biggest water network inspiring and driving a sustainable water future, with a membership of over 5,000 individual and corporate members.


For media enquiries, please contact:
Rebecca Newnham
Head of Communications and Corporate Services
M: 0421 339 223