Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > New awa board of directors to take office next may

New AWA Board of Directors to take office next May

The Strategic Advisory Council (SAC) of the Australian Water Association has elected the Board of Directors for the next two-year term, commencing in May 2021.

Every second year, directors elected by the SAC must be ratified at the AGM. Last Thursday, 15 October this ratification occurred during the Association’s first virtual AGM, attended by 104 members.

“It was very encouraging to see so many members join the AGM online. This was clearly an example of how some of the changes that have been forced upon us through COVID can also be accepted as opportunities,” said Carmel Krogh OAM, National President and Chair of the AGM said.

“The potential for future broadening of our communications for these types of key meetings is an important step in the future of the Association.”

Ten positions were available on the Board, taking into account outgoing Directors who will have concluded their maximum term in 2021.

“I would like to congratulate all the successful incoming Board members who will form the new Board in May 2021 under Louise Dudley's leadership as incoming President from that date.”

“I will have more to say next year on the outgoing Board members when their terms come to an end, but would like to highlight the huge contribution that Francois Gouws, Dr Jeremy Lucas and Professor Jurg Keller have made to the Association. I feel privileged to be their colleague.”

“I would also like to thank all of the candidates who submitted applications for the Board. It was such a wealth of talent that made the task of the Strategic Advisory Council extremely difficult to fill the vacancies.”

The Association is pleased to announce that the Board of Directors will consist of the following as of May 2021:

  • Carmel Krogh OAM (currently President and will take office as Immediate Past President)

Carmel has been on the Board since 2013 and became National President in 2019. A former Director of Shoalhaven Water, Carmel now provides strategic organisational advice to the water sector and was awarded an OAM in 2019 for her service to civil engineering.

  • Louise Dudley (currently President Elect and will take office as President)

Louise has been Chief Executive Officer of Urban Utilities since 2012, and prior to this was the utility’s founding Chief Financial Officer. Preceding Urban Utilities’ formation, Louise held several senior management roles at Brisbane City Council and KPMG.

  • Jim Athanas

Jim is the Managing Director of Xylem Oceania. He has 26 years of experience in the water sector, particularly in the areas of chemical water treatment and capital equipment. He is passionate about sustainable water management and attracting more talented young water professionals to the sector.

  • Peter Dennis

Peter is the Managing Director at Hunter H2O. His executive experience covers both utility and local government with strong involvement in regional areas, major infrastructure projects and setting policy and directions on reuse and biosolids management.

  • Kate Draper

Kate is Commercial Manager at Unitywater. She has a strong legal background and was previously Commercial & Legal Manager at Queensland Rail Limited. She brings knowledge with respect to legislation, contracts, commercial negotiation and safety to the sector.

  • Dr Sandra Hall

Sandra is Operations and Business Development Manager at the Advanced Water Management Centre, University of Queensland. With a passion for education and research, Sandra also provides a strong voice for diversity, inclusion and equity in the sector and was inducted as a Fellow of the International Water Association in 2016.

  • Karlene Maywald

Karlene is the Managing Director, Maywald Consultants Pty Ltd and a South Australian Water Ambassador. She has strong government experience being a previous SA Minister with responsibility for water. Using this experience, Karlene now focuses on driving collaboration and engagement between industry, government, related sectors and the community.

  • Shelley Shepherd

Shelley is a Director of Urbaqua, a not-for-profit environmental organisation that works to support and deliver water and environmentally sensitive outcomes in Western Australia. Shelley is an environmental planner specialising in strategic planning, policy development, urban water management and collaborative project delivery.

  • Daniel Sullivan

Daniel is CEO of Iota Services, joining South East Water in 2017 to run its commercial arm, Iota. He has over 20 years’ experience in senior roles across technology commercialisation, consulting and international trade including 12 years as a trade official on diplomatic postings.

  • Kevin Werksman

Kevin is the Global Water Leader for Aurecon. With training in economics, engineering, and environmental management, he has advised utilities, governments and the private sector on a wide range of infrastructure transactions, business cases, policy challenges, and operating model changes.

The new Board will begin their two-year term at Ozwater’21 next May.