Awards banner

Awards Overview 

The Australian Water Association offers a range of awards at both state and national levels and plays an important role in promoting excellence and the contribution our members make to the community. The awards not only seek to recognise and reward outstanding achievement of individuals and organisations in the water sector, but also to identify those who have displayed conspicuous service to the profession and exceptional performance in the practice of water management. 


All Awards, aside from the Student awards, are open to Australian Water Association members only. Conditions of entry for the Australian Water Association Awards Program can be viewed here

National Award Categories 

For further details, click on the award categories below.

Individual Awards

Organisational Awards

Student Awards

State Awards 

To view additional awards available in your state, please select your state below:

To enter  

  • Check when your state awards open and close, table below. Please note that NO extensions will be granted after the closing date.
  • Click on the above award categories to complete the online nomination forms. We recommend you familiarise yourself with the award criteria, and the questions you will be asked in the form prior to completing.
  • You can download a PDF copy of the online nomination form for your reference, however all entries must be entered online. 
  • If you start completing a nomination form, and cannot complete it at the time please call AWA (on 1300 361 426) as we can retrieve a copy of your incomplete entry.
  • Nominations will be entered into the State Awards. The winner at each state level will automatically advance to the national awards.

Important Dates  

The 2017/18 Water Awards are open throughout the year and you can submit your entry at any time up until the closing date. Please refer to the table below for the closing and announcement dates in your State or Territory. 

2017/18 Award dates:

State Awards Open Awards  Close Winners Announced



You can nominate for an
 at any time during the year

21 July 2017

7 September 2017

QLD 21 July 2017

8 September 2017

31 August 2017 12 October 2017


14 September 2017 (note: Student Water Prize closes 20 August)

20 October 2017


25 September 2017 (note: Student Water Prize closes 23 October)

17 November 2017


5 October 2017

30 November 2017


13 October 2017

7 December 2017


17 November 2017

9 March 2018

National Water Industry Safety Excellence Award
1 March 2018 9 May 2018 (Ozwater'18 Gala Dinner, Brisbane)

2018 National Award Finalists

The 2018 Australian Water Awards will be announced at the Ozwater'18 Gala Dinner, Wednesday 9 May 2018 in Brisbane.

View the full list of finalists

To view the complete listing of all previous national award winners click here.

Frequently Asked Questions 

Click here to download the FAQs 

Should you have any further questions please contact us on 1300 361 426 or email Katie Trevor

 Marc Fabig, Osmoflo
 Marc Fabig, Osmoflo
 Marc Fabig, Osmoflo

 Alycia Moore, 
Chemist, Cleanaway
 Alycia Moore, 
Chemist, Cleanaway