Skip to content
Resources > Latest News > South australia celebrates exceptional members at the sa gala dinner and awards

South Australia celebrates exceptional Members at the SA Gala Dinner and Awards

The 2023 Australian Water Association's Water Awards SA (South Australia) winners have been announced at the SA Gala Dinner & Awards on Friday, 10 November in Adelaide.

The Water Awards SA recognise the contribution of the Association's members in South Australia for their inspiring leadership and innovative research, programs and infrastructure projects.  

This year's Water Awards SA winners will represent the state in the national Australian Water Awards, which will be presented at the Association's annual water conference and exhibition, Ozwater'24, in Melbourne.   


Organisational Excellence Award 

Women in Trades program - Fulton Hogan

Fulton Hogan Utilities (FHU) has launched their ‘Women in Trades’ program aimed at promoting the water industry and various pathways available to young women to enter the workforce. The initiative sets out to get the interest of young female students to increase diversity in our sector.

R&D Excellence Award (Sponsored by Water Research Australia): 

Water Research Australia-horizontal-1
The Fellowship of the Rubber Ring – A Precious Journey to Ensure Water Quality Compliance - SA Water

Research into the occurrence of unacceptable levels of N-nitrosodimethylamine detected during commissioning of newly installed pipelines in housing developments identified rubber joining rings as the source. Collaboration with industry stakeholders resulted in the amendment of the AS/NZS 4020 (2018) standard to ensure future water quality compliance of newly installed pipes.  

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Regional) (Sponsored by WSP Australia):  


Future Proofing the Pacific: a Sustainable Model for Water Security in the Marshall Islands - Osmoflo

From its base in South Australia, Osmoflo has been able to assist several remote or disaster-affected populations around the world with the provision of safe drinking water. Osmoflo is very proud of the work they have done on Marshall Islands.

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Metro):  

Showcasing Sustainable Development through Grassy Woodland Restoration - SA Water

Discover SA Water's Millbrook Reservoir Grassy Woodland Restoration Project, a testament to proactive environmental leadership. The project has doubled biodiversity, welcomed back threatened species, engaged and inspired the community.

The Hodgson Medal - Student Water Prize (Sponsored by Government of South Australia & Infrastructure SA): 

NW-logo-fullcolorSouth Australia Government-stackimage-png-Oct-30-2023-10-03-41-0948-PM

Hiua Daraei, University of South Australia – New Water Treatment and Coagulant Dose Control Systems for DWTPs: fDOM Fluorescence Signal Corrections for Environmental-Monitoring and Coagulant Dose Control.

Hiua is a UniSA-STEM PhD candidate (thesis under examination). Hiua’s PhD project was an ARC LP project, collaborating with Seqwater, Melbourne Water, SA Water and Xylem. Hiua has begun a research fellow position at Griffith University, where he is tasked with implementing the dose control models developed in Seqwater’s DWTPs.

Young Water Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Xylem): 
Jack Carbone, Project / Design Manager at Aurecon

Jack is a passionate engineer who specialises in project and design management. He has made key contributions to improving sustainability in the water industry and connecting emerging water professionals. His achievements include leadership roles in a range of SA Water initiatives including Zero Cost Energy Future. 

Premier's Medal - Water Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Department for Environment and Water): 

South Australia Government-Department for Environment and Water

Dr Lionel Ho, Senior Manager Water Expertise at SA Water

Lionel has over 25 years’ experience in the water industry. He is currently SA Water’s Senior Manager Water Expertise, where he leads a team of 29 water professionals. Lionel has been a leader in the Australian Water Association, International Water Association and the Water Industry Alliance for many years.

The Association congratulates all the award finalists and winners and thanks our partners and sponsors for supporting this event and these important industry awards. 

See 2023 Finalists




Thought Leadership Partner 

SA Water-stack

Premier's Water Medal - 
Water Professional of the Year Award Sponsor

SA Department for Environment and Water-logo

National Young Water Professional of the Year Award Sponsor


R&D Excellence Award Sponsor


Infrastructure Project Innovation (Regional) Award Sponsor

Hodgson Medal - Student Water Prize
Entertainment Partner


Networking Partner

Sequana ONLY Logo_RGB-png-1

Dessert Partner
Guidera O Connor