Excellence recognised in ACT and QLD Water Awards

Posted 11 September 2017

QLD Student Water Prize winnerA number of outstanding individuals and organisations have been recognised for their work across the ACT and QLD water sectors.

Last week was a week of recognition as we announced the winners of the ACT Water Awards at the ACT Water Leaders Dinner on Thursday evening and then the QLD Water Awards at the Queensland Gala Dinner & Awards Night on Friday. 

“The awards recognise the outstanding contribution of individuals and organisations in the water industry across innovation, research, infrastructure and delivery of water projects,” Australian Water Association Chief Executive Jonathan McKeown said.

“As an industry we congratulate the dedication, passion and enthusiasm shown by our members who are genuinely making a difference to the sector and to our communities as a whole.”
The winners of the ACT Water Awards and the QLD Water Awards will automatically be entered into the equivalent National Australian Water Awards category, which will be presented at Ozwater’18 in Brisbane next year.

2017 ACT Water Award winners

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award
Using Optimisation Models for Sewer Investment Planning – Icon Water and AECOM
Research Innovation Award
Enlarged Cotter Dam Fish Monitoring and Research – Icon Water
Student Water Prize
Identifying Critical Natural Resource Management Regions For Public Health – Aparna Lal, Australian National University
Young Water Professional of the Year Award
Bianca Petrevski, Acting Senior Stakeholder Engagement Officer, Icon Water

2017 QLD Water Award winners

Research Innovation Award
Purple Phototrophic Bacteria for Resource Recovery from Wastewater – The University of Queensland and CRC for Water Sensitive Cities
Program Innovation Award
Cyanotoxin Based Recreational Water Quality Management Program – Seqwater
Infrastructure Project Innovation Award
Kingaroy Wastewater Treatment Plant Upgrade – Aquatec Maxcon Pty Ltd and South Burnett Regional Council
Student Water Prize
Understanding the ecological basis for human health risks associated with drinking water drawn from a sub-tropical freshwater catchment – Adam Rose, CQUniversity
Young Water Professional of the Year Award
Katrin Doederer, Research Fellow, The University of Queensland
Water Professional of the Year Award
Colin Hester, Manager Commercial Water & Trade Waste, Queensland Urban Utilities
Regional Service Award
Steve Tansley, Director, Tansley Consulting
Distinguished Service Award
John Betts, Principal, Betts Advisory

For more information about the winners and their winning projects, see the below media releases.

Download PDF ACT Water Awards winners announced

Download PDF QLD Water Awards winners announced

Event photos

View all the photos from the QLD Gala Dinner & Awards Night by clicking here