AWA TAS Where the Waters Meet State Conference 2021

AWA TAS Where the Waters Meet State Conference 2021
DON'T MISS the Tasmanian state conference, Where the Waters Meet including full day conference proceedings, industry breakfast and trade exhibition

The event will be held on Thursday, 26 August 2021 with an overarching theme of Resourcing our Water Future, we look forward to showcasing projects and programs addressing:
Catchment Management 
Circular Economy
Asset Management & Planning 
Water Quality

The conference will again feature a split stream program to enable greater depth of content in topical areas and more opportunity for presenters - click below to download the program! 

Event Details
Date: Thursday, 26 August 2021
Registration Close: Thursday, 19 August 2021
Wrest Point Exhibition and Convention Centre, Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart
YWP Workshop 6pm-8pm (hosted on 25 August at Wrest Point - Green Room)
Industry Breakfast 6.45am - 8.30am
Trade Exhibition 8.30am - 5.00pm
Conference 8.45am - 5.30pm 
Download Program

Registration Fees
Registrations for TAS Where the Waters Meet are now closed. Please contact for inquiries.

Registration Type



Conference Registration + Breakfast



Conference Registration



Breakfast Only



Breakfast Only Corporate Table of 8
*See further instructions below



Conference Registration + 1 Year AWA Professional Membership



Young Water Professional - Conference Registration



YWP Workshop (25 August)

*This is an optional addon



*All registration fees are inclusive of GST

Keynote Speaker

Kathryn Fagg AO

We are pleased to announce that Kathryn Fagg AO, inaugural Chair of Watertrust Australia will be the keynote speaker at the 2021 AWA Tasmania Where the Waters Meet Conference.

Watertrust Australia Ltd is a new, independent national policy centre with a mission to improve the way decisionsare made about Australia’s inland waters and catchments. In the Conference keynote address, inaugural Chairman Kathryn Fagg will explore the importance of a focus on decision making processes in helping move difficult water policy debates forward. Kathryn is a respected and experienced Director and Chair, with extensive senior commercial and operational leadership experience across a range of industries. Kathryn is also Chair of Boral, Deputy Board Chair of CSIRO and a Non-Executive Director of both National Australia Bank and Djerriwarrh Investments Limited. In the for-purpose sector, Kathryn is Chair of the Breast Cancer Network Australia, as well as a Director of The Myer Foundation, the Grattan Institute and the Champions of Change Coalition.

Industry Breakfast Panel - 6:45am - 8:30am | Thursday, 26 August
Facilitated by Tim Gardner, the immediate past AWA Tasmanian Branch President, this panel session will focus on the challenges and actions our organisations must undertake to “resource our water future”. 
The panel will explore how, as an industry, we: 
increase the value placed on water by communities, industries, and government 
create a shared vision and common objectives for water resource management 
foster the adoption of practices and technologies that will help deliver more sustainable water outcomes 
encourage our best and brightest to join the water sector 
develop the skills needed for the future of water management and utilisation 
Toby Thorpe, TAS State Recipient Young Australian of the Year 2021 
Tammy Chu, Managing Director, Entura 
Katy Cooper, Neu21 Consultant 
Professor Richard Eccleston, Director, Tasmanian Policy Exchange, University of Tasmania   

YWP Workshop: Boost Your Profile - 6-8pm | Wednesday, 25 August
Venue: Wrest Point Exhibition and Convention Centre, Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart | Green Room

This NEW initiative, as part of AWA Tasmania’s Young Water Professional Program, sponsored by Stornoway, will be held the evening prior to the Conference. The two-hour workshop aims to inspire and empower Tasmanian Young Water Professionals to be more skilled, confident, and prepared in establishing their professional profile and marketing themselves, both within their own company and externally to prospective future employers.  
Four industry experts and an external consultant will help to refine the skills Young Water Professionals need, including  interview skills, resume development and shaping a vision. 
*If you have an existing Conference Registration and wish to add YWP Workshop, please contact from your registered email address.

Who will be exhibiting at the Conference?
 - Endress+Hauser
 - Fulcrum Robotics
 - geotas
 - Hach Pacific
 - Imbros
 - Netco Pumps
 - Veolia

COVIDSafe Event Guidelines: 

The Australian Water Association has closely followed Government recommendations to develop COVIDSafe Guidelines for AWA events going forward. These guidelines will be in place at this event and have been developed to ensure attendee health and safety. Your support is also essential to keep this event COVIDSafe. We ask that delegates observe good hygiene and physical distancing at the event, where possible. If you are feeling unwell, please do not attend the event. Please email at least 24 hours prior to the event if you are unable to attend due to illness. Under these circumstances a transfer of your registration to a colleague will be accepted at no cost. Late cancellations may attract a cancellation fee. Refunds will not be provided for no shows.

Need more information?
Conference, EOI, Registration
Natasha Stapleton - Member Engagement Manager - Tasmania at or 0438 246 400
Tomo Okai - Events Manager - or 02 9467 8434

Elana Huthnance, National Membership and Sponsorship Manager at or 0401 807 221

Trade Exhibition
Steve Comey, Senior Exhibition Manager at or 0414 919 424

Thank you to our Sponsors

Principal Partner

Gold Partners


Silver Partners


Breakfast Partner 

Lunch Partner

YWP Program Partner

26/08/2021 6:45 AM - 26/08/2021 5:00 PM

Sign In

Online Learning series