WA Water Award winners announced

8 November 2016

Written by Darren Smith, WA Networking and Industry Sub-Committee Member

The annual AWA WA Water Awards Dinner was held in the Argyle Ballroom of Parmelia Hilton on Friday 21st October. The event was organised by the Australian Water Association WA Branch Committee. The water industry was well supported with Department of Water, Water Corporation, Valoriza, Tecnicas Reunidas, GHD, AECOM, RCR Water, Trility and Hydramet. Most importantly, the night had a charity partner with WaterAid, who raised funds through the wine wall. Despite the state-wide network going down, affecting the electronic funds transfer machine, all but 6 of the bottles were snapped up by guests eager to support the cause! Halinka Lamparski, Treasurer and Secretary of WaterAid spoke of the vision of this charity to provide clean water to areas like Papua New Guinea's villages.

Verity James led the Award Ceremony with the desired level of professionalism mixed with her unique sense of humour. Through the night, we heard from Deanne McDonald, WA Branch President and Peter Moore PSM, AWA National President, who shared the latest technological progress AWA is making with e-journals and a more accessible website.

As expected, the mains were delicious and accompanied interaction well as we got to know the people on our table or sought out old friends and colleagues.

The first award for Program Innovation was won by Waterwise Office Program (Water Corporation with the City of Perth and Property Council of Australia). The Water Sensitive Urban Design (Grahame Heal) Award was awarded to Department of Water for Urban Nutrient Decision Outcomes Tool. The Infrastructure Project Innovation Award went to One Stone Consulting with Water Corporation for the Ravenswood Pump Station Control System Upgrade, and the Innovating for Sustainability (Small Business) Award was garnered by Environmental Engineers International for Development and Implementation of the Anammox Process for Nitrogen Removal from Wastewater.  

The individual awards had an even higher level of anticipation and the Student Water Prize went to Ashwin Nayak from Murdoch University, one of the students of Martin Anda, who won the Water Professional of the Year Award.‎ Martin’s leadership and influence in the water industry was made very clear in his acceptance speech as he acknowledged almost everybody who was sitting at his table and their connection with his works. In addition, two of the finalists in the Student category were his students!

Finally (although not presented in this order), Halinka Lamparski won the Young Water Professional ‎of the Year. A very special time for Halinka, who is expected to be the future 'face' of water professionals, as she accepted the award on her birthday and shared how important water sustainability is for her, us, and her soon-to-be bub who will need water for his/her life.

Once the formalities were over, Carbon Taxi took to the stage and provided great dance music, with many of the attendees staying late into the evening to network.

Head to our photo gallery to see the photos.