WA 2020 Water Awards

WA 2020 Water Awards

Friday 23 October 2020 | The Ritz-Carlton, Elizabeth Quay

The winners of the Australian Water Association’s 2020 WA Water Awards were announced at the annual dinner held at The Ritz-Carlton, Elizabeth Quay in Perth on Friday 23 October 2020.

Olman Walley provided a Welcome to Country on Whadjuk Noongar land and talked about the important role water plays in Indigenous culture. Olman was then joined by other members of Boorloo Aboriginal Cultural Experience dance troupe for a traditional dance performance which soon got the audience clapping along.

Rachel Evans, immediate past president of the AWA WA Branch was the MC for the evening and kept the evening running along with a few jokes for good measure.

Will Sarni, CEO and founder of The Water Foundry was the keynote speaker for the evening, speaking via Zoom from the USA. Will provided an in-depth discussion on the digital transformation required for water sustainability.

WaterAid provided a wine wall and raffle, regular features of the awards dinner. Lisa Chan, Committee Chair highlighted the importance of water and sanitation in the era of covid-19. Steel Mains generously offered to donate an additional $5,000 if they received additional Linkedin followers. Guests were also treated to the sounds of acoustic guitarists, Minky Gardner and Alex Borthwick, who provided music entertainment throughout the dinner.

Speeches were made by Peter Spencer, current AWA WA Branch President who discussed the changes that had been made throughout 2020 to connect AWA members online, as well as Carmel Krogh, AWA National President and Peter Moore, PSM, who received the AWA’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Winners of the AWA WA awards were:

Innovating for Sustainable Water and Environmental Outcomes Award (sponsored by the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation and Water Corporation)
Winner: The Australian Fine China Project: A Decentralised Model for High Density Infill Developments – Syrinx Environmental

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Regional)
Winner: Busselton Water Filtration Plant No. 1 – Busselton Water & GHD

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Metro)
Winner: Beenyup Advanced Water Recycling Plant Stage 2 – SUEZ & Water Corporation

R&D Excellence Award
Winner: Naegleria Fowleri in Drinking Water Distribution Systems – CSIRO & Water Corporation

Student Water Prize (sponsored by GHD)
Winner: An Investigation into the Optimisation and Evaluation of Smart Ponds for Sludge Management – Raveena Raju, The University of Western Australia

Young Water Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by Xylem)
Winner: Kevin Massez, Project Manager, Water Corporation

Water Professional of the Year Award
Winner: Chris Elliott, Managing Director, Busselton Water

It’s hoped the inspiration gained from these wonderful people and projects encourages you to put forward your best ideas and innovations at next year’s WA Water Awards.

We would like to thank the 2020 Judging Panel led by Kelly Lavell and the WA Branch and YWP committee volunteers alongside Kyllie Whitehead, WA Branch Manager and members of the AWA Events Team who assisted in organising of this event. Thank you also to The Ritz-Carlton, Debbie Collins Photography, Boorloo Aboriginal Cultural Experiences, Minky G and WaterAid

We hope you can join us at the Awards Showcase and EOY Networking event to be held on Wednesday 25 November 2020 at The University of Western Australia where you can hear more about the winning projects and individual award winners.

Image Gallery 

An event like this would not be possible without our Program Partners. The Australian Water Association would like to thank our Diamond Program Partners the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation and Water Corporation, Platinum Partners SACYR Water and Westforce Construction, Gold Partner Steel Mains, Student Water Prize Award Partner GHD and National Young Water Professional Award Partner Xylem.