2018 National Award Winners

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 National Water Awards. The winners were announced at Ozwater'18 in Brisbane.

Research Innovation Award

Purple Phototrophic Bacteria for Resource Recovery from Wastewater – The University of Queensland and CRC for Water Sensitive Cities (QLD)

Program Innovation Award

Community Leak Program, Living Water Smart – Power & Water Corporation (NT)

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

Sundrop Farms Project – John Holland Group (SA)

Water Industry Safety Excellence Award

FCD Skyhook Mark 4 – Fremantle Commercial Diving (WA)

Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize (sponsored by Xylem)

Recycling Waste into Biochar: A Sustainable Wastewater Filter and Fertiliser for the Agricultural Industry – Minh Nga Nguyen, Sydney Girls High School (NSW)

Student Water Prize

Smart Monitoring for Microbial Risk Assessment – Sarah Aucote, Flinders University (SA)

Young Water Professional of the Year

Katrin Doederer, Research Fellow, The University of Queensland (QLD)

Water Professional of the Year

Ciara Sterling, Head of Community Inclusion, Yarra Valley Water (VIC)

Best Water e-Journal Paper

Understanding Naegleria Fowleri: A Different Type of Pathogen, an Increasing Climate Change Threat – Clara Laydon
Published in 
Water e-Journal, Volume 2, Issue 2, November 2017.

View the full list of finalists