2017 National Awards Winner

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2017 National Water Awards. The winners were announced at Ozwater'17 in Sydney.

Research Innovation Award

Nitrogen Removal from Wastewater while Maximising Resource Recovery Potential, The University of Queensland, Queensland

2017 Winner – Australian Research Innovation Award


Program Innovation Award

Keep Wipes out of the Pipes, Sydney Water, New South Wales
2017 Winner - Australian Program Innovation Award

Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

Adelaide River Water Treatment Plant, Power and Water Corporation, SUEZ and Goodline, Northern Territory
2017 Winner – Australian Infrastructure Project Innovation Award


Water Industry Safety Excellence Award (sponsored by WSAA)

North West Adaption of Crawler Technology, Water Corporation, Western Australia

2017 Winner – Australian Water Industry Safety Excellence Award


Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize (sponsored by Xylem)

Macinley Butson, The Illawarra Grammar School, New South Wales:


Student Water Prize

Kaitlyn Bell with her paper Development of a Performance Measuring Device for Improved Monitoring of Sewer Pump Stations, Shoalhaven Water and the University of Wollongong, New South Wales

2017 Winner - Australian Student Water Prize


Young Water Professional of the Year

Cail Rayment, Demand Management Officer, Power and Water Corporation, Northern Territory 

2017 Winner - Australian Young Water Professional of the Year


Water Professional of the Year

Professor Craig Simmons FTSE, Director, National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training, South Australia

2017 Australian Water Professional of the Year


Best Water e-Journal Paper

Green Square: Protecting Communities and Enabling Urban Renewal Through Effective Flood Risk Management.
N Taylor, D Kent, K Woodbury, M Lewis, S Muralitharan
Published in Water e-Journal, Volume 1, Issue 4, November 2016.

Best Water e-Journal Paper Award Winner

View the full list of finalists