Awards banner

Awards Overview 

The Australian Water Association offers a range of awards at both state and national levels and plays an important role in promoting excellence and the contribution our members make to the community. The awards not only seek to recognise and reward outstanding achievement of individuals and organisations in the water sector, but also to identify those who have displayed conspicuous service to the profession and exceptional performance in the practice of water management. 


All Awards, aside from the Student awards, are open to Australian Water Association members only. Conditions of entry for the Australian Water Association Awards Program can be viewed here

National Award Categories 

For further details, click on the award categories below.

Individual Awards

Organisational Awards

Student Awards

State Awards 

To view additional awards available in your state, please select your state below:

To enter  

  • Check when your state awards open and close, table below. Please note that NO extensions will be granted after the closing date.
  • Click on the above award categories to complete the online nomination forms. We recommend you familiarise yourself with the award criteria, and the questions you will be asked in the form prior to completing.
  • You can download a PDF copy of the online nomination form for your reference, however all entries must be entered online. 
  • If you start completing a nomination form, and cannot complete it at the time please call AWA (on 1300 361 426) as we can retrieve a copy of your incomplete entry.
  • Nominations will be entered into the State Awards. The winner at each state level will automatically advance to the national awards.

Important Dates  

The 2016/17 Water Awards are open throughout the year and you can submit your entry at any time up until the closing date. Please refer to the table below for the closing and announcement dates in your State or Territory. 

2016/17 Award dates:

State Awards Open Awards  Close Winners Announced



You can nominate for an
 at any time during the year

29 July 2016

16 September 2016


28 August 2016

21 October 2016

 NT 11 November 2016  18 November 2016


23 September 2016

18 November 2016


7 October 2016

24 November 2016


6 October 2016

1 December 2016


28 October 2016

8 December 2016


18 November 2016

10 March 2017

National Water Industry Safety Excellence Award
18 March 2017 17 May 2017 (Ozwater'17 Gala Dinner, Sydney)

2015/16 National Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2015/16 National Award Winners, announced at Ozwater'16 Gala Dinner, Wednesday 11 May 2016. For a complete listing of all previous award winners click here.

Category  Winner
Infrastructure Project Innovation Award Suncoast-Coolum-Maroochydore STP Reconfiguration 

 Program Innovation Award Allwater's Energy Management Program 
 Research Innovation Award Advanced Condition Assessment and Pipe Failure Prediction Project
Sydney Water

 Water Industry Safety Excellence Award Vacuum Truck Snorkel, TasWater
 Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize Mohamed Jakaria, Queensland Academies Health Science Campus
 Undergraduate Water Prize Scott Roy, SMEC Australia
 Young Water Professional of the Year
Kathryn Silvester, Sydney Water 

 Water Professional of the Year
Marc Fabig, Osmoflo

Frequently Asked Questions 

Click here to download the FAQs 

Should you have any further questions please contact us on 1300 361 426 or email Katie Trevor

 Marc Fabig, Osmoflo
 Marc Fabig, Osmoflo
 Marc Fabig, Osmoflo